Active Faith – Life in the Modern World

Active Faith
Life in the Modern World
1987 Worthless Records
Mesa, Arizona, USA

Scott Roman – Lead vocals, keyboards, sequence programming, BGVs
Toby Drummond – All guitars, BGVs
Phil Bachelder – Bass guitar, speaking on “Remember Me,” BGVs
Jeff Evan – Drums, BGVs

  1. Life in the Modern World
  2. Job Insecurity
  3. No Consolation
  4. Naked
  5. Live It Up
  6. Pandemonium
  7. Remember Me

This is apparently Scott Roman’s band before he joined No Laughing Matter (also before he put out any solo tapes). It is mostly in the alternative rock general category, with some progressive and new wave influences that take it outside of the typical 80s alt rock genre. You can read some about this and download it for free online, so the only thing I am really adding is a scan of the original tape cover. But even though this isn’t as dark as No Laughing Matter, I still like it a lot, so I would recommend downloading it.

Camel Society Kings – C.S.K.

Camel Society Kings
1987 (no label)
Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Michael Angelino – Vocals, percussion
Anthony Lancenese – Bass
Timm Marsh – Guitars

  1. Love Runs Deep
  2. Soul Divide
  3. In The Shadow

I believe that this is the second demo by Camel Society Kings, a year after their self-titled demo, but before their A Pile of Stones demo. They really know how to nail that 80s alternative rock sound. U2 is the most noticeable influence, which I love, but you can hear other influences from The Smiths to Depeche Mode. That is a wide range of sounds, but they meld it together into something that is a coherent sound of their own. This band seems to have only produced twelve songs over three demos, but they are all great quality mid to late 80s alternative/modern rock.

King James and the Concordances – The Authorized Version

King James and the Concordances
The Authorized Version
1987 Son Sessions
Miami, Florida, USA

Al Valdes – Vocals, keyboards, guitar, drums, composer of most of the songs
Julio Rey – Vocals, guitar, bass, composer of a few less of the songs

  1. Don’t Wanna Be No Gumby
  2. Mission to Mexico
  3. Johnny’s in a Cult
  4. Peabody Went to High School
  5. Movies About Jesus
  6. Last of the Nubs
  7. The Monastery

This appears to be the original version of the tape that was re-released in 1990 with a remix of every song on side 2. Stylistically all over the place, but still fun to listen to. This was one of many bands led by Julio Rey back in the day. The j-card between the two seem to be the same except for the color, and the 1990 version added a different record label and a blurb about the side 2 remixes. The songs on this one are the same recordings as the re-release, but they sound a bit thinner here. It seems the bass was boosted a bit on the re-issue. After this tape, they also released I Do in 1990.

No Laughing Matter – V 1/2

No Laughing Matter
V 1/2
1987 Worthless Records
Mesa, Arizona, USA

  1. We Can’t
  2. The Call
  3. Alone With You
  4. Wildest Dreams
  5. Thermodynamics
  6. Don’t Feed Me That Line (Ceiling Fan 3)
  7. Chosen

This appears to be an early/rough mix of Volume 1/2 by No Laughing Matter. The songs here are in a different order than the official release, and the mix is a bit rougher here. However, the song “Don’t Patronize Me” is replaced with “Chosen.” Of course, “Chosen” went on to appear on Underground: Brains for the Stupid, Volume One Discernment, and Live Bootleg Skate Concert (even though the version on here is better recording quality than those tapes). Nothing new here, just an interesting tape that turned up in the stacks.

Fütch – 21

1987 Plan 7 Dist.

Fütch – Vocals, synthesizer, drum programs, dulcimer

Side 1:

  1. Strawberry Street
  2. Blue Eyes & Golden Dreams
  3. They Want to Kill Me
  4. Wake Up, It’s Night
  5. Love is Murder
  6. I Stand Accused
  7. Lori’s Theme
  8. Lifestyles of the Rich & Boring

Side 2:

  1. Green Pastures
  2. December Rain
  3. Wild Ride
  4. Dark City
  5. End of the Game
  6. Zone
  7. Memories
  8. 21

Fütch, aka Mikael Futch, aka Bing Futch, aka Mike Futch, is the man of many names that is also known for his work with Crazed Bunnyz, Nutty Faith, Johnny Quest, and other bands. This is one of his solo albums, probably at least his sixth (as far as I can tell). It appears to have been released between 1987’s Buy Dis Album Ore God Will Disconnect My Fone and 1989’s Fantasy Amidst the Storm. But there could be other albums in there that I am not aware of. Futch does all of the music and vocals here. It does sound a bit like his other work in Crazed Bunnyz and other bands, but without guitar. The synthesizer is the dominant instrument here, and it brings an 80s new wave/synth pop sound to the music. With several instrumental songs mixed in being a little ambient side. Which all works really well.

Message Clear – Message Clear

Message Clear
Message Clear
1987 (no label)
Batavia, Illinois, USA

Side 1:

  1. Project B2
  2. Religious Man
  3. Proclamation
  4. Dikisosis

Side 2:

  1. Message Clear
  2. Hagios Pnuema
  3. Vacation
  4. Be Honest With God

This is a bit of a different tape. It’s very avant-garde and experimental, yet it still has song structure, riffs, etc. It’s like somewhere beyond alternative rock and prog rock as far as weird song structures, but still structured music that is not like any of the noise or experimental music I have written about here. For example, “Religious Man” is pretty much an all-out rocker, but still quirky and experimental. I also can’t find a list of who plays on this, but there appears to be a full band playing on this. Dan Swiegert (producer and lyric sheet) and Amy Copeland (cover art) are the only names mentioned, but no idea if they also play in the band. It could also be a one-person band by Dan or someone else that does all of the instruments. Which would be impressive, as songs like “Proclamation” do have some out-right prog rock instrumental jam breakdowns that required several people to be well-practiced in their different instruments.

Missing Information: Who played on this?

Stevie & The Saints – Metal Blue

Stevie & The Saints
Metal Blue
1987 Victoria LTD

Steve Olsen – Vocals, lead guitar
Ken Kane – Bass Guitar
John Tinker – Drums

Ralph Clayton – Keyboards
Kathy Jameson – Backing vocals
Maureen Kelly – Backing vocals

Side 1:

  1. We are the Saints
  2. Saint’s Boogie
  3. Code Name: Jesus
  4. One in One-Hundred

Side 2:

  1. Don’t Knock the Rock
  2. Talkin’ ’bout Love
  3. Jehovah Jirah
  4. Prisoner of Love

This is the early and more metal album by Stevie & the Saints. Their 1990 tape Eye on the Prize was more straight up blues rock, while this one is blues metal – or probably more accurately more like blues hard rock. This one also came out on vinyl back in the day, and has since been re-issued on CD and digital. If you like blues hard rock, kind of like a slightly heavier ZZ Top with influences from other Texas blues artists like Stevie Ray Vaughn, this is a really good example of it. The tape that I transferred didn’t come with a j-card, so I used the vinyl / CD re-issue version above.