X-Terra – X-Terra

2000 (no label)
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

Rich Wilkens – Lead vocals
Josh Haynes – Lead guitar, vocals
Russ Straw – Rhythm guitar, vocals
Anne Kachline – Bass, vocals
Bob Kachline – Drums, vocals

Side 1:

  1. Warriors
  2. Prayers
  3. Where’s Your Love
  4. Witching Hour
  5. The Gadarene
  6. Be My Home

Side 2:

  1. Choose Life
  2. Woe to the Wicked
  3. Do What Jive
  4. Wolves
  5. Tower of Babel
  6. Found Trusting

X-Terra had been around for quite a long time by the time this demo was put out. Its also interesting to see a cassette from 2000. They start off with some tasty traditional metal/almost thrash metal riffs, and then start mixing in elements of nu-metal/groove metal here and there. However, if you hate those genres, keep in mind that they still ground this all in mostly traditional metal. I kind of like some modern metal, but if more bands went this direction I would have liked them more. I often see this band described as “groove metal.” There is a little bit here and there in this demo, but they are still not really like the Mustard Seeds, Atomic Opera, etc in the groove metal genre.