The Way Sect Bloom – The Way Sect Bloom

The Way Sect Bloom
The Way Sect Bloom
1996 Flaming Fish Music (ffmcs003)

Jeff Bruce – Guitars, vocals, keyboards, programming, sequencing
Joe Gallagher – Additional guitars and vocals
Mike Cruz – Additional keyboards and vocals

Side 1:

  1. Subsidize
  2. Frustrate
  3. Washed

Side 2:

  1. Illumina
  2. Frustrate (reality edit)

Interesting – I had forgotten that there was a self-titled Way Sect Bloom release on Flaming Fish Music after their God demo, but before their Effloresce full-length. All of the songs here were also on Effloresce. “Illumina” is pretty different from “Illumina (Defenseless)” on Effloresce, and there are also slight differences with “Washed” and Frustrate (reality mix)” as well. The Way Sect Bloom had a unique take on industrial hard rock that I always liked. The first three tracks were recorded by Scott Albert aka Celldweller, so you can hear his influence on the music as well. Kind of more of a collector’s item for the uber fan more than anything else, but still cool none the less.


Graveyard Cafe – Fresh Ground

Graveyard Cafe
Fresh Ground
1992 Corpqii Productions
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Marc Plainguet

Side 1:

  1. Oblivion
  2. The Church of Holy Profits
  3. Godzilla vs. The World

Side 2:

  1. Barbie’s Lament
  2. Afterlifestyles
  3. 100% Pure Beef

This is another Marc Plainguet project. I think this is all Marc, but there aren’t any real credits on this tape other than all songs were performed by Graveyard Café. The sound on this tape would have probably fit in with the Slava artists back in the day. There is an industrial vibe on these songs that is not just from the electronic instruments. But there are also many trippy elements on here – like the rap vocals on the first track. It’s all part of the weird coolness that is Marc Plainguet. Even the ways I would describe it don’t fully capture the sound. This tape seems a bit more accessible than other Plainguet projects, even though that aspect is probably countered by the comfort-level pushing lyrics.

Mental Destruction – When Madness Strikes [second tape version]

Mental Destruction
When Madness Strikes [second tape version]
1991 Sound Source (.1916.)
Jonkoping, Sweden

Samuel Durling – Vocals, programming
David Durling – Keyboards, programming
Jonas Blåberg – Animalic screams, programming

Side 1:

  1. Without Form
  2. Wolfram 18
  3. When Time is Over (No Time Will Be)
  4. Krossa [edited Swedish version]
  5. Midnatt

Side 2:

  1. The Walls of Madness (Parts I-VII)
  2. Illusion
  3. The Lord Reigns
  4. Black Orange / A World in Decay

Didn’t I already review this demo? Well, yes and no. This is the second version of this demo tape. This version adds two songs (“Krossa [edited Swedish version]” and “Midnatt”), and also has several different versions of some of the songs from the first version. “Without Form” is a longer version of “Dark, Black, and Without Form” from the first version that shares a lot of the same noises as the first version, but also adds a lot more. “Wolfram 18” is about 30 seconds longer here. “Black Orange / A World in Decay” is about 1 minutes 50 seconds shorter on this tape. And overall, the sound on the second version is louder, clearer, and probably remastered from the first version. The packaging is also different – the cover actually wraps all the way around the tape case and is glued on the back. When closed, it actually looks a lot like a thick but small book. The front of the cover also has a foldout section with about 8 pages of lyrics in a booklet format. The style of this demo is pretty much the same as the first one, so you can read my review on that one as the two new songs pretty much stay in this style. The CD re-issue in 1995 dropped “Black Orange / A World in Decay,” edited “Without Form” down to less than half it’s length here, and added 4 new songs.

The Amazing Bone – Demo

The Amazing Bone
1994 (no label)

Kevin Guitierrez (Kevin 131) – Guitars, programming
Tim Guitierrez – Vocals, bass

  1. Frightened Dogs
  2. Butterfly
  3. Real
  4. Smashed Eye Socket
  5. Aura
  6. Enemy
  7. Motorcycle, Man

Oh yeah! Another demo purchase for me, finally tracking down the infamous Amazing Bone. The Amazing Bone was a project by Kevin 131 of Sorrow of Seven/Aleixa fame. I heard the opening track of this demo on the Samantha compilation back in the day, and loved the heavy industrial sound of that track. They sounded a lot like Ministry to me at the time. I wondered if the other tracks were as good? Turns out – they are. Overall, the demo does give more of a KMFDM vibe that many have compared them to, but I also hear a strong Ministry influence as well. If you are only familiar with Aleixa, the sound on this demo is more guitar (post grunge in sound) and male vocals (also post-grunge-ish) a bit lower in the mix, with a few loud trippy tracks (like “Butterfly”) that lean more towards traditional industrial here and there. Too bad there wasn’t more.

Sorrow of Seven – Teal

Sorrow of Seven
1993 (no label) (So7K002)
Dumfries, Virginia, USA

Laurel Snapper – Vocals
Kevin 131 – Instruments

Side 1:

  1. I Could Murder

Side 2:

  1. Some Things Never Go Away

For those that don’t know, Sorrow of Seven changed names to Alexia and released two killer industrial metal albums on various labels – Honeylake in 1996 and Disfigured in 1999. They had spent several years before the name change in the underground, placing songs on various compilations and releasing several demos. Both songs on this demo ended up on Honeylake. Here they are more electronic and less guitar aggressive as they are on the album. But still really good. Also note that the cover is actually not Teal… except for a few letters on the spine.

Arbitrage – Music for the Sacrifice

Music for the Sacrifice
1991 (no label)
Lynden, Washington, USA

Ross Assink – Words and music

Side 1:

  1. Die for Me
  2. Return from Hate
  3. Lie
  4. Monster
  5. Stone Cold

Side 2:

  1. MindRape
  2. Nothing
  3. Rot
  4. Quonset Jungle

This is what I believe is the first Arbitrage industrial demo. Some websites list an earlier demo, but also state that the band was a different style at the time. The interesting thing to think about is that this demo was a year before Mortal released Lusis, but this demo is heavier than most Christian industrial metal albums. The guitars are loud and crunchy, the vocals are heavily distorted, and the riffs are near thrash metal in style at many places. In fact, I believe many of the samples are of Roger Martinez of Vengeance Rising fame. Loud, angry music that should appeal to fans of industrial metal music that was gaining attention during this same time period.

Situation Taboo – All Out

Situation Taboo
All Out
1992 Texas T-Bone Jive / Flat Earth Artists
San Antonio, Texas, USA

Jon Rousseaux
Phil Lovelady

Side 1:

  1. S.A. Texas
  2. Center Peace
  3. All Out

Side 2:

  1. The Strength
  2. Live as Brothers
  3. In My Favor

This is the second demo from Situation Taboo. They continue to develop their postmodern industrial funk hip hop mash-up music. It’s a really cool sound, just hard to describe. They were probably one of the key bands in the Flat Earth Artists group, along with Love Coma, Sixpence None the Richer, and the various other groups that came out of different mixtures (Jon and Phil teamed up with Brian Reaves to create a band called Weeping Willow in 1993, for example). After this, they released another demo called Protorong, which was later re-released by Flyting Tart records as Protodemo. Then they released a part preview/part remix ep called Injecto Logos, finally leading up to their only full length release – Digitalis in 1997 on Flying Tart Records.