Positive Outlook – No More War!

Positive Outlook
No More War!
1987 (no label)
San Francisco, California, USA

Scotty Fraser – Bass, vocals
“Wild” Bill Burnett – Guitar
Mike Fuentes – Guitar
Stop Seely – Drums

  1. No More War
  2. Stop and Think
  3. Mental Prejudice
  4. Newest
  5. J.C.I.L.
  6. Peace is Just
  7. Faceless
  8. Straight

I became aware of this demo through an eBay listing. A quick search turned up a BandCamp site for the re-issue. Apparently it was also re-issued on CD in 1999 as well. The sound is fast and furious hardcore punk (leaning more towards the punk side) with straight edge lyrics. While the title track and a few songs are mostly anti-war, they also talk God, unity, and saying no to drugs. This is also a short album, so it is interesting to see it re-issued a few times so many years later. There must have been a lot more to the band’s buzz than their BandCamp blurb let’s on.


Clay – Demo

1994? (no label)

  1. 1.89
  2. I Talk to Stan (live)
  3. He’ll Detonate

This seems to be slightly different versions of three songs off of Clay’s Geekik demo. The main unique thing here is that “I Talk to Stan” is a live version. So it seems to be a unique version of this song, and also rules out this being a fan-made sampler – maybe? Also, it seems to my ears that the other two songs are also different versions from the ones on Geekik. The vocals seems less harshly sung, and the guitars are not as recorded as heavy. But it could just be a really bad transfer to tape. Not much information on this one other than what is shown above, so I don’t know if this is a different recording of the songs or not.

Conviction of Sin – Live (Godcore 3)

Conviction of Sin
Live (Godcore 3)
1989 The Furnace Room

Burrito – Vocals
Keith – Guitar
Mark Brown – Bass
Doni Daudel – Drums

Tracy G – Guitar overdubs

Side 1:

  1. Intro
  2. I Don’t Know You
  3. Your Choice
  4. No Religion
  5. S. Decay

Side 2:

  1. Revelations 3:16
  2. Human Holocaust
  3. Back to the Cross
  4. Look to God

Conviction of Sin was an early Christian Punk band that Burrito of The Warning / 8 Ball Cholos fame was in before joining Moral Majority. This tape is part of the three-part Godcore tapes that chronicled Conviction of Sin and Moral Majority. These tapes are rare and very hard to find, so I was glad to hear at least one of them. Hopefully the other two will pop up soon. At one time Burrito was going to release all of this digitally, but that didn’t seem to happen. This tape is a live concert recording, and kind of rough at that. It’s hard to hear at times, but you can mainly tell it is hardcore punk. Well, except for the intro track – it’s like a keyboard guitar solo build-up thing that bands like Stryper did. Kind of odd. Also, the first song after the intro is the only one where Burrito doesn’t say “this song is…” – so I took a guess at what its title was. But it also sounds a bit like they are maybe screaming “Derelict!” a lot as well. So maybe that is the title? The last song also cuts off halfway through.

Joe Domikaitus – The Lizard is Dead

Joe Domikaitus
The Lizard is Dead
1989 (no label)
Mesa, Arizona, USA

  1. I’ve Wasted My Life
  2. Such a Predicament
  3. I Didn’t Want
  4. God is Real, Are You Listening?
  5. My Pain
  6. Love Life
  7. Mommy Mommy
  8. Embracing Death
  9. The Lizard is Dead
  10. Message from Joe

A second full length demo by the lead singer and guitarist of The Midst after at least one other demo called My Language. This one was on side two of a demo by The Midst, so I don’t know if it ever had its own cover or not. While there is still a strong influence of horror punk on this demo, Domikaitus continues to move more into the alternative rock realm. As with the last solo demo, the drums on here are electronic, and there were no song titles given. What is listed above is my best guess.

Joe Domikaitus – My Language

Joe Domikaitus
My Language
1987 (no label)
Mesa, Arizona, USA

  1. My Language
  2. Voices in My Head
  3. Visualize Nothing
  4. Flowers on Your Grave
  5. Don’t be a Fool
  6. My Grim Reality
  7. Reconsider the Love You Pushed Aside
  8. Will It Ever End
  9. Where Were You?
  10. Their Blood Cries

This album is a solo demo from the lead singer and guitarist of The Midst. I am not sure if this was released as a separate tape with its own cover or not, but the version I have is added to the end of Side 1 of The Midst’s demo. I am also not sure if this demo was released in 1987 or 1989. Oh, and there weren’t any song names on the tape, so the titles above are guesses I took. The sound here continues the horror punk influences from The Midst, while mixing in some alternative and experimental influences. It sounds like the drums might be drum machines or programmed, so it is probably Domikaitus doing all of the music himself. There was also a second solo demo on side 2 of The Midst tape called The Lizard is Dead from 1989.

The Midst – In the Midst

The Midst
In the Midst
1987 Lizardville
Mesa, Arizona, USA

Joe Domikaitus – Vocals, guitar
Mark Bessey – Keyboard-bass
Nathan Stiffler – Drums, vocals

  1. Thoughts and Words
  2. In the Midst
  3. Empty
  4. Many Eyes Did See
  5. My Pain

This demo comes roaring out of the gate with a mix of horror punk and skate punk influences. It’s not a straight up copy of early Misfits like Rescue is on some songs, but the influences are in full force. You don’t see that much in the early Christian tape underground – Christian horror punk kind of took off much later. I also don’t know if this band went for the stage look of horror punk, either. But they sound legit on tape. The interesting thing about this tape is that I thought I was putting it in to hear five songs, but it turns out that the lead singer of the band put two full length solo albums of his on here as well (My Language and The Lizard is Dead). I will look at those separately, but it sure did change my plans to go from digitizing 5 songs to 25.

The Predators – Social Decay

The Predators
Social Decay
1983 Ears & Eyes

Kevin Smith – Vocals
Kelvin Allwood – Guitar
Brian Westhead – Keyboards, vocals
Andy Rayner – Bass, vocals
Francis Johnson – Drums, percussion

Side 1:

  1. Jack
  2. Free World
  3. Man in My Room
  4. Stand Up and Be Counted
  5. Lost at Sea

Side 2:

  1. 2 Out of 7
  2. One More Time
  3. Wipe the Tears
  4. Nasty Video
  5. Never Say Die

The Predators were an early pioneering new wave / pop / punk band in the Christian scene from England. By some people’s standards today, this would not be considered punk. I get that, but historically new wave bands like this were considered punk (what do you think the “new wave” was a new wave of anyways?). Or you could just look at it as alternative rock if you really wanted, because the pop sensibilities here definitely pull it in that direction. You really get a nice mix of faster, heavier numbers and slower, popier tunes here. This was their second full-length album (after their self-titled debut in 1982), which they followed up with a few more singles before their third full length Offensive in 1987.

BTW – this album made the “CCM Top 500 Best Albums of All Time” list. You can download mp3s of all of their three full-lengths on their website as well: http://www.thedeakin.net/predators/