The Crucified – Nailed

The Crucified
1987 (no label)
California, USA

Mark Salomon – Lead vocals
Greg Minier – Guitar, backing vocals
Trevor Palmer – Bass, backing vocals
Jim Chaffin – Drums, backing vocals

  1. I’m Not a Christian Punk
  2. Death to Death
  3. Your Image
  4. God in a Cage
  5. Crucified With Christ
  6. Give It Up
  7. Disposal

So this tape has been remastered and re-issued on CD and even vinyl a few times. If you wanted to hear it, you can easily find it. I found it interesting to hear it in its original form. Pretty cool. The Crucified were a hardcore punk rock band at this time, bordering on skate punk here and there. This is a killer tape in that style, so I can see why there was apparently a huge buzz back in the day. This was their second demo, after Take Up Your Cross but before Live at the New Order. Of course, even bigger things were to come as they moved more towards a hardcore thrash sound on later releases. This particular tape was just the tape itself, but there is a cover for it (pictured above).

Three Nails – Peace

Three Nails
1992 (no label)
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Kurt Emmert – Vocals
Steve Newby – Guitar
Cory Carleton – Bass
Brad Barron – Drums

  1. Money
  2. Born Again
  3. R.I.P.
  4. Walrus Song
  5. Sex Sells
  6. The Fall
  7. Directed Youth
  8. I Am
  9. Peace

If you are getting a strong Crucified vibe from the band picture, you would be correct. Especially if you were thinking a mix between their early demos and their self-titled label debut. Or a better way to look at it is this is what The Crucified would have sounded like if they went back slightly towards their demo roots after their self-titled rather than going further down the thrash crossover sound. Of course, they aren’t trying to hide their influence – they cover “Directed Youth” from Take Up Your Cross. The lead singer even sounds like Mark Solomon here and there – but with other punk influences mixed in.

Positive Outlook – No More War!

Positive Outlook
No More War!
1987 (no label)
San Francisco, California, USA

Scotty Fraser – Bass, vocals
“Wild” Bill Burnett – Guitar
Mike Fuentes – Guitar
Stop Seely – Drums

  1. No More War
  2. Stop and Think
  3. Mental Prejudice
  4. Newest
  5. J.C.I.L.
  6. Peace is Just
  7. Faceless
  8. Straight

I became aware of this demo through an eBay listing. A quick search turned up a BandCamp site for the re-issue. Apparently it was also re-issued on CD in 1999 as well. The sound is fast and furious hardcore punk (leaning more towards the punk side) with straight edge lyrics. While the title track and a few songs are mostly anti-war, they also talk God, unity, and saying no to drugs. This is also a short album, so it is interesting to see it re-issued a few times so many years later. There must have been a lot more to the band’s buzz than their BandCamp blurb let’s on.

Clay – Demo

1994? (no label)

  1. 1.89
  2. I Talk to Stan (live)
  3. He’ll Detonate

This seems to be slightly different versions of three songs off of Clay’s Geekik demo. The main unique thing here is that “I Talk to Stan” is a live version. So it seems to be a unique version of this song, and also rules out this being a fan-made sampler – maybe? Also, it seems to my ears that the other two songs are also different versions from the ones on Geekik. The vocals seems less harshly sung, and the guitars are not as recorded as heavy. But it could just be a really bad transfer to tape. Not much information on this one other than what is shown above, so I don’t know if this is a different recording of the songs or not.

Conviction of Sin – Live (Godcore 3)

Conviction of Sin
Live (Godcore 3)
1989 The Furnace Room

Burrito – Vocals
Keith – Guitar
Mark Brown – Bass
Doni Daudel – Drums

Tracy G – Guitar overdubs

Side 1:

  1. Intro
  2. I Don’t Know You
  3. Your Choice
  4. No Religion
  5. S. Decay

Side 2:

  1. Revelations 3:16
  2. Human Holocaust
  3. Back to the Cross
  4. Look to God

Conviction of Sin was an early Christian Punk band that Burrito of The Warning / 8 Ball Cholos fame was in before joining Moral Majority. This tape is part of the three-part Godcore tapes that chronicled Conviction of Sin and Moral Majority. These tapes are rare and very hard to find, so I was glad to hear at least one of them. Hopefully the other two will pop up soon. At one time Burrito was going to release all of this digitally, but that didn’t seem to happen. This tape is a live concert recording, and kind of rough at that. It’s hard to hear at times, but you can mainly tell it is hardcore punk. Well, except for the intro track – it’s like a keyboard guitar solo build-up thing that bands like Stryper did. Kind of odd. Also, the first song after the intro is the only one where Burrito doesn’t say “this song is…” – so I took a guess at what its title was. But it also sounds a bit like they are maybe screaming “Derelict!” a lot as well. So maybe that is the title? The last song also cuts off halfway through.

Joe Domikaitus – The Lizard is Dead

Joe Domikaitus
The Lizard is Dead
1989 (no label)
Mesa, Arizona, USA

  1. I’ve Wasted My Life
  2. Such a Predicament
  3. I Didn’t Want
  4. God is Real, Are You Listening?
  5. My Pain
  6. Love Life
  7. Mommy Mommy
  8. Embracing Death
  9. The Lizard is Dead
  10. Message from Joe

A second full length demo by the lead singer and guitarist of The Midst after at least one other demo called My Language. This one was on side two of a demo by The Midst, so I don’t know if it ever had its own cover or not. While there is still a strong influence of horror punk on this demo, Domikaitus continues to move more into the alternative rock realm. As with the last solo demo, the drums on here are electronic, and there were no song titles given. What is listed above is my best guess.

Joe Domikaitus – My Language

Joe Domikaitus
My Language
1987 (no label)
Mesa, Arizona, USA

  1. My Language
  2. Voices in My Head
  3. Visualize Nothing
  4. Flowers on Your Grave
  5. Don’t be a Fool
  6. My Grim Reality
  7. Reconsider the Love You Pushed Aside
  8. Will It Ever End
  9. Where Were You?
  10. Their Blood Cries

This album is a solo demo from the lead singer and guitarist of The Midst. I am not sure if this was released as a separate tape with its own cover or not, but the version I have is added to the end of Side 1 of The Midst’s demo. I am also not sure if this demo was released in 1987 or 1989. Oh, and there weren’t any song names on the tape, so the titles above are guesses I took. The sound here continues the horror punk influences from The Midst, while mixing in some alternative and experimental influences. It sounds like the drums might be drum machines or programmed, so it is probably Domikaitus doing all of the music himself. There was also a second solo demo on side 2 of The Midst tape called The Lizard is Dead from 1989.