Fools and Strangers – Hardcore Beatniks

Fools and Strangers
Hardcore Beatniks
1989 (no label)
Adams, North Dakota, USA

Dan Crowley – Lead vocals, backing vocals, guitar solo on “Laugh”
Jason Loraas – Lead vocals, backing vocals
Eric Lorass – Bass guitar, backing vocals, scary voices
Jay Mindeman – All guitars, drums, backing vocals
Kari Drevecky – Drums, groovy handclaps

  1. Pain Dog
  2. I Don’t Understand Girls
  3. Bikini Frankenstein
  4. Missing You
  5. Sorority Girls
  6. Blitzkrieg
  7. Renae’s Song
  8. I Believe
  9. Laugh at Death (Scream for Life)

To be honest, I have no idea how many tapes there are by Fools and Strangers. They just keep showing up. The main person behind this band (and other bands like The Plague) is Jay Mindeman. He seems to have been very active in the Christian Tape Underground. He also lists several collaborators on the note included with this. I had thought this was one of those “one-person-does-all” projects, but it doesn’t seem to be entirely true. The sound is mostly rock, with some alternative/indie rock leanings. Of course, some songs like “Sorority Girls” feels like a party rock band covering ELO. Other songs like “Blitzkrieg” are pretty much heavy metal. Its an interesting mix.

Fools and Strangers – Welcome to the Far Side / From Life to Death to Life

Fools and Strangers
Welcome to the Far Side / From Life to Death to Life
19?? (no label)
Detroit, Michigan, USA

Jay Mendamin

  1. Intro
  2. Ashes to Ashes and Dust to Dust
  3. Welcome to the Far Side
  4. Leisure Suit Zombies
  5. How Can I Love?
  6. I Know How Love Can Be
  7. Rachel You’ve Got My Love

This collection of demos was on the back of The Plague tape. I don’t know if this contains full demos or a sampling of songs from the two demos listed, as The Plague side didn’t not have all of the tracks from Nuclear Polka. Due to one of the radio spots on the other side, I know that Jay Mendamin is in both bands. There is also a female vocalist on “I Know How Love Can Be.” This is more rock/alternative rock vein than the songs by The Plague. They are still lo-fi songs with a drum machine. There are also no songs titles listed, so I took a guess above (and the first track is an instrumental, so I just called it “Intro”).

Missing Information: Song titles, who played on this, release date.