Jeremiah’s Grotto – Afraid EP

Jeremiah’s Grotto
Afraid EP
1998 (no label)
Gainsville, Florida, USA

Chris Siegle – Vocals, guitar
Brian Gray – Guitar
Dan Gray – Bass
Jonathan Farnell – Drums

  1. 5
  2. 20/20
  3. Raining Small Colors
  4. One Second of Grace
  5. Lost Impurity
  6. Afraid

So this appears to be a rare demo by Jeremiah’s Grotto, but it turns out this has 6 songs from the full-length Raining Small Colors demo. To my ears, it sounds like they are even the same versions as the songs on the full-length. But this demo says the songs were recorded in February of 1998, while the full length was recorded in June 1998. So I am not sure if they just forget these songs were recorded earlier, or if they were just able to pull off near identical recordings a few months later.

Jeremiah’s Grotto – Raining Small Colors

Jeremiah’s Grotto
Raining Small Colors
1998 (no label)

Chris Siegle – Lead vocals, guitar
Brian Gray – Guitars
Dan Gray – Bass
Jonathan Farnell – Drums

Side 1:

  1. Hold the Light
  2. Clarified
  3. 20/20
  4. Afraid
  5. Raining Small Colors

Side 2:

  1. Embrace
  2. One Second of Grace
  3. Lost Impurity
  4. Divine
  5. 5

This is the same Jeremiah’s Grotto that went on to release two albums for Screaming Giant Records (Exemplar in 1999 and Through It All in 2001). The sound here is still the same emo/indie sound that they had on their later albums, but a little dialed back on the emo side here. The vocal style here is also the off-key style that emo/indie bands were doing a lot of in the late 90s – not everyone’s cup of tea if I remember. But it was for others, which is why they probably got signed. The only two tracks that seem to have made it onto later albums are “20/20” and “Lost Impurity” (changed to “Loss-Impurity”) on Exemplar.