Love Coma – Soul Rash

Love Coma
Soul Rash
1992 Flat Earth Artists
San Antonio, Texas, USA

Chris Taylor – Singer, hush guitar, tambourine, soul pedal, 12-string guitar
Jeff Duncan – Groove stick, vox
Matt Slocum – All flying and space guitars, cello, 12-string guitar, voice box
Chris Dodds – The mighty drums, vocal chords

Side 1:

  1. Big Reconstruction
  2. Doubt
  3. Empty
  4. Sign
  5. Disappear
  6. Spice

Side 2:

  1. What’s Behind Those Eyes?
  2. 2 ½
  3. Now
  4. Heartwideopen
  5. On My Way

This one really brings back the memories. When this tape received national distribution through R.E.X. Music, I wore that CD out. This was probably one of my favorite styles of 90s alternative – chiming guitars, distinct bass guitar, moody lyrics, and pounding drums. And yes, a good dose of U2 influence. This was the demo that opened the doors for Chris Taylor and Matt Slocum – it was so good that the label pretty much re-released the whole thing. They did change the track order, and I can’t say I blame them. “Heartwideopen” is the best track here, and deserves to go closer to the beginning. “Sigh” is listed on this demo as a song, but not on the national release. It is a short instrumental, but when R.E.X. released it they moved it to after the last track “On My Way” as kind of a bonus track. You can hear the CD release version on Chris Taylor’s BandCamp website as well (with a couple of bonus tracks). After this, Slocum bailed to focus on some band called Sixpence None the Richer. Wonder what happened with them?

Chris Taylor & Matt Slocum – Better Days

Chris Taylor & Matt Slocum
Better Days
1991 (no label)
San Antonio, Texas, USA

Chris Taylor – Lyrics, singer, guitar
Matt Slocum – Guitars
Chris Dodds – Drum Samples
Teresa Lopez – Vocals on “hole”

Side 1:

  1. Like a Woman
  2. Moon
  3. Who in Hell?
  4. So Cold in Here
  5. Hole
  6. Need You to Be Free

Side 2:

  1. What’s Behind Those Eyes…
  2. Rip.
  3. Another Sunday Morning…
  4. Summer Wind
  5. Selah 140
  6. Just a Little Bit of Me
  7. Silver…

Chris Taylor seems to have a large number of cassette demos from his pre-label days, a couple of which I have heard and a couple more I have only heard of, and probably a couple more beyond that. On this one, he teams up with Lova Coma band-mate Matt Slocum (you might have also heard of him from this little band called Sixpence None the Richer). Two of these songs were later recorded by Love Coma (“What’s Behind Those Eyes” on Soul Rash and “Summer Wind” on Language of Fools). These are more stripped down formats. In fact, the whole thing is definitely alternative like Love Coma and Taylor’s solo work, just much more basic and demo-esque. But the talent still shines through. A few of the tracks made it online for your listening pleasure: