Marc Catley – The Peel of Hope

Marc Catley
The Peel of Hope
1991 (no label)
Bury, England, United Kingdom

Marc Catley – Guitar, vocals

Side 1:

  1. Jesus is Ace
  2. This is the Day After Yesterday
  3. Father God Almighty
  4. Times Seven
  5. Make a Joyful Noise
  6. The Clap
  7. Lord I Really Just Want Lord to Praise You Lord Just I Really am Right Now Lord
  8. Dance
  9. Other People are Puzzling Over Questions
  10. Worship the Praise
  11. Jesus

Side 2:

  1. My Guardian Angel Drives a White Sierra
  2. Classical Acoustic Heavy Metal
  3. O My Jesus You are Lovely
  4. Forward Masking
  5. My Biscuit Barrell Says Jesus is Lord
  6. Endless Nipples Upon the Seashore
  7. I am so Very Happy
  8. Pure White Music

This tape is pretty much a lot of short to medium length songs by Marc Catley doing satire of society and church. While these are mostly acoustic guitar-based, there are some other instruments and sounds thrown in here and there. The cover and tape labels are also made to look like someone took a copy of Peel Tower Hop, covered up some letters, added a few others, and came up with The Peel of Hope. There are also about 3 songs listed on the j-card that are not on the tape. Some of them, like “All of Jesus’ Sins”, are obviously left blank because that is the point the song is trying to make. But I’m not sure why there is no song at the end of side one called “Two Forty-Nine.” Must be some old British joke I don’t get. Anyways, if you enjoy Catleys other releases like This is the Birth of Classical Acoustic Rock, then you will also enjoy this one as well.

Marc Catley – This is the Birth of Classical Acoustic Rock

Marc Catley
This is the Birth of Classical Acoustic Rock
1986 Plankton Records (PCN115)
London, England, United Kingdom

Marc Catley – Vocals, acoustic guitar on “Help Me”
Paul Donnelly – Keyboards, electric guitars, acoustic guitars, classical guitars, drum machine
Jeremy Cooke – Keyboards
Alison Donnelly – Vocals

  1. Love
  2. Write Your Will on My Heart
  3. Help Me
  4. Peace
  5. The Answer
  6. New Life
  7. Hosea

This is a rather rare tape by Marc Catley – apparently his first for Plankton Records. He would go on to do several eclectic/progressive/alternative collaborations with Geoff Mann, as well as his own various bands. As the title suggests, this is mostly acoustic music, with a few other instruments thrown in here and there. The only places this tape gets close to rock is in the upbeat songs “Love” and “Hosea” (this one with some cool spacey keyboards), or possibly the electric guitar-augmented “Help Me.” Otherwise, this tape appeals mostly to fans of folk/acoustic rock.

Marc Catley & Band – Hot Air for Jesus

Marc Catley & Band
Hot Air for Jesus
1993 Plankton Records (PCN139)
London, England, United Kingdom

Marc Catley – Vocals, guitar, keyboards, mandolin, voice overs, sound effects
Marianne Velvart – Vocals, voice effects, sound effects
Duncan Parsons – Drums, percussion, keyboards, vocals, voice overs, mandolin, lead boing, backing saw, sound effects

Jill (Peel) Towers – Flute, voice overs, sound effects
Martin Heap – Bass guitar
Clive Davenport – Electric guitar
Jonathan Dunn – Voice overs, sound effects, keyboards
Jake Willis – Voice overs, sound effects, keyboards
Steve Olner – Voice overs, sound effects
Andy Lardbrow – Voice overs

Side 1:

  1. My Guardian Angel Drives a White Sierra
  2. Hot Air for Jesus
  3. Good Wholesome Entertainment for the Christian Young Man
  4. Christ Massacred
  5. Stock Prophecy
  6. The Eternal and Never Ending Dance of Life That Weaves Across the Cosmos in Wave After Wave of Pulsating Vibrating Vibrant Warmth From the Heart of Deep Majestic Suns Fed on Interstellar Dust That is the Carrier of the Seed of the Life-Essence That We Call Love
  7. Isn’t He?
  8. Glib and Roly Bonnet Medley
  9. Keith…

Side 2:

  1. Christian World Concern ‘93
  2. False Pretences
  3. We’re in Love with Ourselves
  4. Mould Me Lord
  5. Sunday Best
  6. You Could Say
  7. Dope Man Every Time
  8. Good Wholesome Entertainment (reprise)

If you can’t tell by the songs titles… or how it is explicitly spelled out on the cover… this is satirical music. Most of this falls in the acoustic rock/alternative rock range. The tape packs in 8-9 songs in 18 minutes per side, so many of these are short songs. Track 6 on side 1 is – you guessed it – a 13 second long instrumental. A lot of the humor here is distinctly British in nature – a bit dry and tinged with a lot of social commentary. “Keith…” is pretty much a statement to someone name Keith to stop leaving messages on someone’s “answer phone.” Side B lists a song called “Tina Matthews” as track 2, but I can’t find a matching track on the tape there. Marc Catley has released many rock/alt/acoustic releases before and after this one, some while working with Geoff Mann. The tape has a pretty cool black & white extensively detailed hand drawn j-card. Marc Catley is now an ordained minister with the Church of England, and doesn’t appear to be recording music anymore.