CS – Live

1989 Metal Cross Productions

Side 1:

  1. One Road Leads to Another
  2. Take Yourself Back to the Cross
  3. The One You are Looking For
  4. The Way Things Should Be
  5. True Love
  6. You’re Always There

Side 2:

  1. I’m Going Home
  2. Running Out of Time
  3. Can’t You Hear
  4. One Road Leads to Another

This is a live recording from a band that I guess is just called CS? Not much information here, and despite the label name being “Metal Cross,” this not really a metal band. It’s a rock band that occasionally uses some bluesy hard rock elements. Kind of like a slightly more hard rock Brighton. For some reason, the track I call “True Love” sounds a lot like “On the Line” by a band called Tangier. No song titles were given, and seeing that this is a live recording in Sweden, it was hard to tell song titles. I took my best guess above.

Missing Information: Who played on this, what are the song titles?

Mental Destruction – When Madness Strikes (original tape version)

Mental Destruction
When Madness Strikes (original tape version)
1990 Metal Cross Productions
Jonkoping, Sweden

Ivar – Vocals
Plupp – Animalic Screams
Dave – The Beatmaster

  1. Dark, Black, and Without Form
  2. Wolfram 18
  3. When Time is Over (No Time Will Be)
  4. Black Orange / A World in Decay
  5. The Walls of Madness (Parts I-VII)
  6. Illusion
  7. The Lord Reigns

This is the original tape version of When Madness Strikes by Mental Destruction. You might be asking “Wasn’t this re-released on CD? Why care about the original tape version?” Well, that is because this tape has one song that wasn’t on the CD release (“Black Orange / A World in Decay”), as well as the full version of a song that was edited on the release (“Dark, Black, and Without Form”). “Wolfram 18”  also sounds a bit different to my ears on the original tape. The sound here is a bit more minimalist industrial noise than you find on other releases by bands like Blackhouse. But Mental Destruction went on to be one of the bigger names in industrial during their brief existence, so I don’t need to tell you that their take on industrial works. This tape also came with a sticker of the front cover, as well as an insert with the lyrics. Interesting thank you notes on the insert: they thank new wave Christian label Embroyo Arts and Blackhouse among the names, and then mention Vengeance Rising and The Lead as musical inspiration. Samuel Durling, David Durling, and Jonas Blåberg were the members on this tape, but I am not sure which one is Ivar and which one is Plupp :).