Big Rage! Volume 1 – 1990

Big Rage! Volume 1
1990 Pure Metal Records

Side 1:

  1. The Stand – Don’t Look Back
  2. Paradox – Give a Listen
  3. Zeal – Loner
  4. Mitch Bohet – Bottom of It
  5. Sanxtion – The Resurrection and Life
  6. Heebie Jeebies – Land of the Free

Side 2:

  1. Lust Control – Mad at the Girls
  2. Torah – Pray for the Children
  3. Archangel – Burn, Burn, Burn
  4. Repent – Shadows
  5. Bryan Whited – Heaven Can’t Wait
  6. Outcry – Vessels Unto Honor

Big Rage! was a compilation from Pure Metal that I think was only released on tape. It is technically a label release, but it contained only underground (at the time) bands of various styles. The Stand is the same power pop/alt rock band that also released this song on Heartbreak Town. Paradox is the traditional power metal band from San Antonio – this song has been on many comps and it rocks. Zeal is a power metal/neoclassical metal band that sounds like many similar bands that were influenced by bands like Riot at the time. Mitch Bohet is alt rock artist that had his song produced by Charlie Peacock, and it bears his influence (not a bad thing). Sanxtion is an epic power metal/speed metal band. Heebie Jeebies is an experimental-ish band that uses drum machines, but it is not industrial. I don’t think. Lust Control is, well, Lust Control. Punk and in your face. Torah has been featured here before – female fronted heavy metal. Archangel is a more commercial metal band with AC/DC influence vocals, but a more driving metal sound. Repent is a band that has a regular metal sounding band with kind of haunting vocals that give them a more original sound that others. Bryan Whited is a traditional metal solo project with a full band. Outcry was a one-time name change for Crucifix just for this song – keyboard-laced traditional metal.

Crusade Compilation Volume 1

Crusade Compilation Volume 1
1992 (no label)
Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

Side 1:

  1. Outcry – Majesty
  2. Hot Pink Turtle – Funky Creep
  3. Majesty – Electric Preacher
  4. Heirborne – A Tear for Babylon
  5. Outcry – Heaven’s Love

Side 2:

  1. Hot Pink Turtle – Breather
  2. Chancelus – I See You Cryin’
  3. Bloodpath – The Truth
  4. Embryo Chrysalis – Vengeance is Mine

This compilation was made to showcase Kansas City area bands it seems. I don’t know if there was ever a Volume 2. This one focuses mostly on heavy metal. Outcry is traditional power metal band – who happened to get help from Jeff Scheetz on guitar. Needless to say, they have some shred. Hot Pink Turtle was signed to R.E.X. Records and is probably the most well-known of the lot. They were more of a funk metal/Red Hot Chili Peppers band that always got lumped in with metal more than grunge for some reason. Majesty is a traditional metal band, but with slight speed leanings here and there. Heirborne is more on the speed metal side, with some black metal influences. Apparently members of this band went on to play in Possession and Frost Like Ashes. Chancelus is also a more traditional metal band with soaring lead vocals. Bloodbath is a bit more of a low-fi thrash/speed metal band. Finally, Embryo Chrysalis is a thrash/speed metal band that has alternating style vocalists and time changes that reminds me somewhat of Tourniquet. The quality of this tape is not bad, but definitely demo/underground levels.