Soul Circus – Demo

Soul Circus
19?? (no label)

  1. Intro
  2. Mother
  3. Sunny Side Up
  4. Lovechild

This demo really tripped me out. The intro is a lot of samples from television, music, and other places mixed with a lot of laughing. I thought maybe this would end  up being a trippy found noise demo. But then the first songs kicks in (after the 2:00 intro)… and wow is the singer a dead ringer for Michael Knott. I’m still not convinced this isn’t an unknown Knott demo. The second song (a rock-a-billy influenced tune) features people talking at the beginning that doesn’t sound like Knott, and some vocals that aren’t quite so Knott-ish… but still. You never know. They kind of are Knott-ish as well. It’s a pretty good alternative rock demo, but there is no info about it on the tape other than what is in the picture above.

Missing Information: Band members, year released.


Sovereign Steel – Demo

Sovereign Steel
19?? (no label)
Denison, Texas, USA

  1. Dark Hour
  2. By Our Love
  3. Market of Destruction

So all I have on this demo is in the picture above. Turns out that this, in fact, the same band that released a demo called Say Your Prayers in 1990. All of the songs here was also on the Say Your Prayers demo. So I don’t know if this an earlier or later demo that was re-recorded, or a sampler of their full demo. These sound like the same versions, but slightly different recordings. Either way, the sound is thrash metal with a heavy early Metallica influence. If you dig around online, you can find the six-song Say Your Prayers demo.

Missing Information: What year was this released? Who played on this?

Fighter – Live Mix

Live Mix
1989 or 1990 (no label)
Waterloo, Iowa, USA

Amy Wolter
Jim Wolter
Who else?

  1. Nice Guy
  2. The Waiting
  3. If You Want Love
  4. I Saw Jesus Through Your Eyes
  5. Running the Race
  6. Stop Look Listen
  7. Fighting Fire With Fire
  8. Do What You Want
  9. Star One
  10. Jamie

The j-card says “Live Mix,” while the tape says “Demo.” I would guess that these songs were either recorded live in the studio or mixed in the same fashion a live show would be. All in all, what you have here are six songs that were re-recorded on their debut CD The Waiting, all four of the songs from Demo II (including two of the six from The Waiting), and two songs that I don’t think appeared on any other demos or recordings (although also note that “Fighting Fire With Fire” and “Jamie” never made it off Demo II). “If You Want Love” is one of those songs, but the other one doesn’t have a title listed. So I called it “I Saw Jesus Through Your Eyes” as that is what is repeated in the chorus. So four songs total that weren’t on their two national CDs. Also, as you can see above, the first three songs are listed by name, with the other seven as “additional.” I don’t note any difference in song quality or tape hiss or anything on those seven, so I am not sure why they weren’t listed. Anyways, this demo is not far off from their debut CD – even the four songs not on that album sound like they would fit there easily. The recording is a bit muffled, but not too bad. Seems to be a rare collectible. For those not familiar with Fighter they were a rock/AOR band led by a husband/wife team. They could play and write songs in that genre well, and their two in-demand CDs are rare and often expensive.

Jason Underground – JPUSA Demo

Jason Underground
199? (no label)
Camarillo, California, USA

Jason Underground – Vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo, harmonica

  1. Love Rag
  2. Earth Psalm
  3. As Yet Untitled
  4. The Ballad of Jesus Christ

This seems to be a short demo that Jason did to get a set at Cornerstone Festival. He is introducing the songs in between playing them. The versions of these songs mostly sound like the ones on his other releases, except that he plays “Love Rag” on a banjo. I haven’t heard “The Ballad of Jesus Christ” on his other demos, so it is either only on here, or on a demo I haven’t heard yet. He describes it as a “bonus track” just for JPUSA, though. Jason Underground was a Christian Underground regular, with his one man protest folk sound gaining fans of those that wanted to question weird stuff in the evangelical world as well as the larger world.

Aslan – Candle

19?? (no label)

  1. It’s Not Enough
  2. Cry
  3. Candle
  4. On and On
  5. Best of Me
  6. Shadow
  7. Closer
  8. Lay Me Down
  9. Come Home
  10. The Letter
  11. Old Man

Wow – who is this? All the info that I can find on this demo anywhere is on the cover above. But the recording is very high quality, and the band plays a very polished version of pop-keyboard metal. I have to be looking in the wrong places, because for something like this to go unnoticed in the metal underground circles is very odd. To be honest, it doesn’t sound like the Aslan from Kentucky or Canada. But it could be an unheard demo by either, or simply another band to add to the list. Some of the music here dips into the pop rock territory of the lighter moments of White Heart as well. But again, if you like the genre, they play it really well. To be honest, it is a bit too soft for my tastes and I still like it. There is also an unlisted joke song at the end about, well, being an old man. The old problem with this is that the first song has some skips in it like it was a damaged CD. Kind of weird to hear on a tape.

Missing Information: year of release, who played on this?

D.O.N. – Demo

199? (no label)
Gladstone, Missouri, USA

Side 1:

  1. Death, Screaming, and Pain
  2. Burning Down the House
  3. What Do You Think This Is?

Side 2:

  1. What Do You Think This Is?
  2. Burning Down the House
  3. Distortion
  4. Short on Time
  5. Tear Down the Cults
  6. Cowboy Bob
  7. Satisfaction
  8. C.M.
  9. Death, Screaming, and Pain

Judging by the rusty screws and beat up plastic on this demo, I expected it to be in rough shape. And it was in places at first, but once I got past those it was fine. Seems that this is a dub of D.O.N.’s existing demos. There are three songs on side one, all of which appear on their 53 of Your Favorite Disco Tunes as Performed by D.O.N. (and 9 new ones) demo. Then side two is that entire demo. The three songs on side one sound mostly like the versions on side 2, maybe slightly different recordings. Not much here for collectors, but for someone wanting to just have a copy of their demo, it will work for that.

Missing Information: Date of release; are the songs on side 1 different versions?

The Quickening – Running Away

The Quickening
Running Away
19?? (no label)
Pensacola, Florida, USA

Rick Norris – Lead Vocals
Keith Rentz – Keyboards
Doug Przybyszkewski – Guitar
Mike Spooneybarger – Drums

Side 1:

  1. Seeds of Destruction
  2. Child of the King

Side 2:

  1. Kill the Prophet
  2. Running Away

This demo is hard to pin down style-wise. The cover makes it look alternative (and the band’s name is very alternative). The first track is a rock number that starts off with some flamenco guitar – it sounds heavily influenced by Burlap to Cashmere. The second track is pretty much an acoustic ballad/pop song. The third song sounds more alternative, but the play between the electric guitar and keyboards has a prog rock feeling to it. The last song is the heaviest, and still seems to float somewhere between alternative and prog rock. I actually enjoyed the album, even though I am not quite sure how to label it style-wise.