Big Rage! Volume 1 – 1990

Big Rage! Volume 1
1990 Pure Metal Records

Side 1:

  1. The Stand – Don’t Look Back
  2. Paradox – Give a Listen
  3. Zeal – Loner
  4. Mitch Bohet – Bottom of It
  5. Sanxtion – The Resurrection and Life
  6. Heebie Jeebies – Land of the Free

Side 2:

  1. Lust Control – Mad at the Girls
  2. Torah – Pray for the Children
  3. Archangel – Burn, Burn, Burn
  4. Repent – Shadows
  5. Bryan Whited – Heaven Can’t Wait
  6. Outcry – Vessels Unto Honor

Big Rage! was a compilation from Pure Metal that I think was only released on tape. It is technically a label release, but it contained only underground (at the time) bands of various styles. The Stand is the same power pop/alt rock band that also released this song on Heartbreak Town. Paradox is the traditional power metal band from San Antonio – this song has been on many comps and it rocks. Zeal is a power metal/neoclassical metal band that sounds like many similar bands that were influenced by bands like Riot at the time. Mitch Bohet is alt rock artist that had his song produced by Charlie Peacock, and it bears his influence (not a bad thing). Sanxtion is an epic power metal/speed metal band. Heebie Jeebies is an experimental-ish band that uses drum machines, but it is not industrial. I don’t think. Lust Control is, well, Lust Control. Punk and in your face. Torah has been featured here before – female fronted heavy metal. Archangel is a more commercial metal band with AC/DC influence vocals, but a more driving metal sound. Repent is a band that has a regular metal sounding band with kind of haunting vocals that give them a more original sound that others. Bryan Whited is a traditional metal solo project with a full band. Outcry was a one-time name change for Crucifix just for this song – keyboard-laced traditional metal.

Paradox – Ruler

1987 (no label)
San Antonio, Texas, USA

Manuel Castillo – Lead vocals
Phil Galicia III – Vocals, bass, keyboards
Fernando Hernandez – Lead guitar
John Vidaurri – Rhythm guitar
Efrain Galicia – Drums

Side 1:

  1. Long Live the King
  2. Singing All Night
  3. We are the Temple
  4. Ruler

Side 2:

  1. Last Race
  2. Stand Up for Jesus
  3. Can’t You See
  4. You Must Be Saved

This is what appears to be the debut demo from San Antonio’s Paradox. This demo got some exposure back in the day due to the song “We are the Temple” being included on the Heaven’s Metal Cool Tunes compilation. This demo is more straight ahead power metal than the follow-up demo Power and Glory (that had some progressive metal leanings). They also had two guitarists on this demo, while it seems John left sometime after this was recorded. Still some killer metal here – they should have gone further back in the day.

Paradox – Power and Glory

Power and Glory
1988 (no label)
San Antonio, Texas, USA

Manuel Castillo – Lead vocals
Phil Galicia III – Vocals, bass, keyboards
Fernando Hernandez – Lead & rhythm guitar
Efrain Galicia – Drums

  1. Power and Glory
  2. I Just Want to Love You
  3. Meet the King
  4. Sweet Reunion
  5. God’s Amazing Grace

Paradox was one of the more popular underground metal bands to come out of San Antonio, Texas. “San Antonio?” you ask. A lot of people don’t realize there was a strong underground metal scene in San Antonio in the 80s and even into the early 90s. I visited San Antonio in the early 90s and met people that were still big metal heads. Paradox is one of the better bands to have emerged from that scene. Phil Galicia also used to be in TNK. The first song here is very progressive metal like early Tourniquet, but the next song has a bit of a progressive metal edge mixed with commercial metal and soaring chorus. That doesn’t sound like it would work, but it does. The third track takes the mix from the second song and blends in some power metal muscle as well. The fourth track is the 80s power ballad, and the last track is a smoking instrumental. I am making it seem like they are all over the place, but the reality is all of the songs have a cohesive sound. Impressive.