The Big Gig (compilation)

The Big Gig (compilation)
1984(?) Broken Records (UK) (BRS 10)
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom

Recorded live December 10, 1983 at Hilliard Hall, Plymouth

Side 1:

  1. Against the Tide – Food for Thought
  2. The Barking Dogs – Feelin’ Alright
  3. Mark 2 – I Think I’m in Love
  4. Against the Tide – Pictures
  5. Mark 2 – You’re Always There
  6. The Barking Dogs – Just a Man
  7. The Alligator Jug Thumpers – Mama Don’t ‘Low

Side 2:

  1. The Barking Dogs – I’ve Been Falling
  2. Mark 2 – Knocking Down Walls
  3. The Alligator Jug Thumpers – Wild Cat Blues
  4. Against the Tide – God in Heaven
  5. Mark 2 – Liar
  6. Against the Tide – On and On

This is a compilation of live songs played at one concert by various bands on Broken Records (the UK one). The year was not given on the release, but seeing that it was recorded very late in 1983, then mixed down and turned into a compilation, I would go with 1984. The sound is mostly alternative rock – either keyboard or guitar driven (or both) – except for The Alligator Jug Thumpers. I think this might have been a joke band or one-off collaboration from that night that played, well, pretty much jug music. All of The Barking Dog songs are also on their New Material demo. The four songs by Mark 2 are not on either one of their 7” singles, but could be on their The Documentary release. I don’t know, as I have not heard it and cannot find much info about it online. The Against the Tide material also may or may not be on another release by them – I don’t know. I haven’t heard anything by them, either. Kind of obscure, but possibly also with some unreleased songs on it.

Missing Information: release date confirmation

The Barking Dogs – New Material

The Barking Dogs
New Material
1984 Broken Records (UK) (BRS 012)
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom

John Bradshaw – keyboards
Alistair Coles – All guitar & vocals
Any Day – Drums

Side A

  1. New Material
  2. So Good
  3. Feelin’ Alright
  4. Alone
  5. In Silence

Side B

  1. I’m Like a Bomb
  2. Just a Man
  3. I’ve Been Falling
  4. The Garden
  5. Revelation

I brought this up as a “band with a weird name” and Doug pointed out they are not bad. Decided to throw them in. This is the kind of stuff that showcases why I love digitizing tapes. I guess the best way is to describe it as alternative, kind of keyboard and bass guitar heavy. Some rough edges, but they are definitely a “diamond in the rough” kind of band. Not the most awesome thing in the world by far, but something different played by a band that obviously knew what they wanted to sound like and went for it. English band I assume, or at least their label is (formerly located at this address actually). This is obviously not the American Broken Records. There is also an odd image of a Gnome on the record that says “Famous Gnome”. Not sure what that is about. Not finding much online, but that is to be expected with the fairly common band name and album title.