Bob – Logride

1992 Sonic Hope Records
Glendora, California, USA

Chad B. Edmundson – Vocals, rhythm guitar
J.D. Carnes – Lead guitar, vocals
John R. Williamson – Bass guitar, vocals
Eric C. Paulsen – Drums, vocal

Side 1:

  1. Aspect
  2. Short of a Revolution
  3. Snowdogs
  4. Eric’s Song
  5. Logride

Side 2:

  1. Underbelly
  2. Thank God
  3. Lackluster
  4. Saving Grace / And for a Reason
  5. Bob

So this is not the Bob that was on Fingerprint Records that released Tales From the House of the Wholly Bobble as far as I can tell. This seems to be a super-group made up of various solo folk artists from the Sonic Hope Records label. Except they are not doing folk rock – it is more like alternative/indie rock that seems to share many influences with Joe Christmas. Which makes me wonder if this is a later version of Household Morgan? Chad Bryant Edmundson and John R. Williamson both have solo tapes, and maybe the other two do as well that I just haven’t heard (Paulsen has played on tapes by Edmundson and Williamson). “Lackluster” is a cover of a David Finley song, but they start off with the chords from the 77s “I Can’t Get Over It” before transitioning into the song. The song that I have labeled as “Bob” is not listed – it’s basically people singing “Bob” in a bunch of funny ways.

John R. Williamson – Make a Songwriter Happy

John R. Williamson
Make a Songwriter Happy
1993 Sonic Hope Records
Claremont, California, USA

John R. Williamson – Vocals, guitars, other instruments?

Side 1:

  1. Where They Meet
  2. The Observant Scout
  3. 14 Adjustments
  4. Trying to Love Clayton Ides
  5. The Breadth of My Will
  6. Hot Jazz

Side 2:

  1. Exodus Revisited
  2. Friends
  3. From Russia With Love
  4. The Ballad of Funnycuzi
  5. The Death of the Rough Rider
  6. Hart Overboad
  7. Thanks a Lot

From what I can tell, this is at least Williamson’s 4th or 5th demo (depending on when the undated Sketches came out, or if there are other earlier demos I haven’t heard of. Since Canvas of Blues was also released in 1993, but ’m not sure which one came out first. There is also a missing song on Side 1 – seven are listed, but only six are played. I can name all of the tracks except for track 2 – so it is either “Roley Poley” or “The Observant Scout.” Based on the liner notes, I went with “The Observant Scout” – but I could be wrong. This tape follows other Williamson releases, in that it is mostly folk rock with many other instruments thrown in. That makes some songs come across as more Americana Rock than folk rock.

John R. Williamson – Sketches

John R. Williamson
199? Sonic Hope Records
Palo Verde, California, USA

John R. Williamson – Vocals, guitars

Mike Harkins – Trombone
Korby Paulsen – Guitar
Eric Patton – Drums
Mandy Horak – Singing

Side 1:

  1. Reckoning
  2. The K-Mart Song
  3. Morning Storm
  4. Spiney Snake
  5. Alone With a Will
  6. Ode to Keaton’s Young Sherlock

Side 2:

  1. I’m Breathing
  2. Ray Horne
  3. Eyes
  4. Clinging to Jesus’ Cloak
  5. Poetic Prophetic Musical Sketches
  6. Such is Love

This is another John R. Williamson release, but without a date on it. I assume it was in the 1990s like his other ones, but I have no idea where it falls in the order with other tapes like Canvas of Blue or Do I Dare to Eat a Peach? The sound is also similar to his other tapes, being mostly acoustic alternative rock. Sometimes it’s folk-ish, other times it is singer-songwriter-ish, but it also seems to be a bit outside of those genres as well. This could be due to the occasionally bass guitar, percussion, or other instruments that get thrown in the mix. Unfortunately, the first song on side 2 (“I’m Breathing”) was a bit mangled on this copy, but you can still kind of make it out, and that issue goes away by the next song.

Missing Information: what year was this released?

John R. Williamson – Canvas of Blue

John R. Williamson
Canvas of Blue
1993 Sonic Hope Records
Claremont, California, USA

John R. Williamson – Vocals, guitars, other instruments?

Chad Edmunson – Vocals on “Where Did the Doctor Go?”
David Finley – Vocals on “Where Did the Doctor Go?”
Eric Paulsen – Strumming and croaking on “A Humdrum Conundrum,” boost guitar on “Chess With Death”
Michael Knepher – Strumming and croaking on “A Humdrum Conundrum”
Korby Paulsen – Drums on “Temecula”

Side 1:

  1. Danish Straightjacket
  2. Bigger Than Blue
  3. Our Guilt-Ridden Alchemist
  4. Chess With Death
  5. Where Did the Doctor Go?
  6. Temecula
  7. A Humdrum Conundrum

Side 2:

  1. Juggler Treading Water
  2. Captivity
  3. Move It Along
  4. Arise
  5. Sarah and Abraham
  6. Landing in a Family
  7. Testimony in the Mother Tongue

This is one of several recordings by Williamson on Sonic Hope Records, the same label home as Robert Deeble of Days Like These fame. As one would guess, this is acoustic folk music, but with a more noticeable rock ‘n roll sensibility in that there is more percussion and upright bass than you usually find on these types of albums. Also some more electric guitar here and there. There is kind of a rollicking Hee-Haw-ish groove underneath some of the songs, but with Williamson doing something more like acoustic Indie rock over the top. Which makes for a more interesting listen across the whole album than it would be if he was just doing the acoustic singer/songwriter thing for a dozen or so songs. The cover is actually a near full page color laser-printer printed page, folded to the size and shape of a j-card.