Jet Jaguar – Jet Jaguar

Jet Jaguar
Jet Jaguar
1994 (no label)
Mesa, Arizona, USA

Keith Cordell – Guitar, bass
Ted Worthless – Bass, guitar
Theresa Hodge – Drums
Nathan Marlowe – Samples

  1. Impala
  2. 51 Pegasi
  3. Spy vs. Spy
  4. Needle in a Haystack
  5. Speed the Light
  6. Mariner

This is another find from when I found the website for the Right Reverend Theodore Munk, also known as Ted Worthless of No Laughing Matter fame. He had some mp3s of old bands up there, but this band I had actually heard of before. The information above is from a tape that I traded a few years ago. The online version has a different song order, renames “Needle in a Haystack” to “Angels 20,” and adds the song “Menudo Patrol.” This is some cool instrumental surf rock. This band seems to be one of the bands that filled the gap between when No Laughing Matter broke up and reformed later.


God Speed – Called by Name

God Speed
Called by Name
1994 (no label)
Sequim, Washington, USA

Jonathan Simonson – Bass, vocals
John Himmelberger – Guitar
Greg Autry – Drums

Side 1:

  1. Intro
  2. Carry Me Out
  3. The Beginning
  4. Dead to Sin
  5. Forgotten Memories

Side 2:

  1. The Way
  2. Wanna Be
  3. See the Rain
  4. Called by Name
  5. At the Cross

Yet another BandCamp find. This is a different band than the one called Godspeed. It also seems that members used to be in bands called Fear Not (not the metal band signed to Pakaderm Records) and Evidence. The sound here is a heavier alternative rock sound with punk rock leanings. You can listen to this on BandCamp, but note that the songs are in a different order on BandCamp than on the tape listing. I went with the tape listing above. You can listen for yourself to see if you like it, but I kind of do.

Grammatrain – Demo

1994 (no label)
Seattle, Washington, USA

Pete Stewart – Vocals, guitars
Dalton Roraback – Bass
Paul J. Roraback – Drums, percussion, vocals

  1. Drown
  2. Mindform
  3. Need

Finally got this album in a trade. This short demo by Grammatrain (hopefully you know who they are) is notable mainly for the one song here that didn’t make it on to any later albums (“Mindform”). The sound here is a bit rougher and less mature than their debut album – but not by much. So this one song is not a throw away song – I guess they just ended up not liking it? The other two songs are somewhat different than their final forms. Still, an interesting peek into the bands early development. Cool DIY j-card design as well.

The Amazing Bone – Demo

The Amazing Bone
1994 (no label)

Kevin Guitierrez (Kevin 131) – Guitars, programming
Tim Guitierrez – Vocals, bass

  1. Frightened Dogs
  2. Butterfly
  3. Real
  4. Smashed Eye Socket
  5. Aura
  6. Enemy
  7. Motorcycle, Man

Oh yeah! Another demo purchase for me, finally tracking down the infamous Amazing Bone. The Amazing Bone was a project by Kevin 131 of Sorrow of Seven/Aleixa fame. I heard the opening track of this demo on the Samantha compilation back in the day, and loved the heavy industrial sound of that track. They sounded a lot like Ministry to me at the time. I wondered if the other tracks were as good? Turns out – they are. Overall, the demo does give more of a KMFDM vibe that many have compared them to, but I also hear a strong Ministry influence as well. If you are only familiar with Aleixa, the sound on this demo is more guitar (post grunge in sound) and male vocals (also post-grunge-ish) a bit lower in the mix, with a few loud trippy tracks (like “Butterfly”) that lean more towards traditional industrial here and there. Too bad there wasn’t more.

Dodavahu – Buy This Tape

Buy This Tape
1994? (no label)
Elkton, Maryland, USA

Matt Kenenske – Guitar, vocals
Darrel Jesonis – Bass, little vocals
Luke Kenenske – Drums, very little vocals

Side 1:

  1. Waiting for So Long
  2. Silly World
  3. SNG 4
  4. Façade

Side 2:

  1. Attitude
  2. Where I Am
  3. Compromise Hour
  4. As I Looked

Dodavahu was an underground band that got some national exposure by being on several high (and not so high) profile compilations in the 90s. They did record one full length CD, but never signed to any labels – even though they probably should have. Their sound was that heavy funk alternative spazz rock that was popular in the mid-90s. They were a bit more focused than Dig Hay Zoose, but with more swagger than Don’t Know. But I guess it wasn’t meant to be. “Waiting for So Long,” “Silly World,” “Compromise Hour,” and “As I Looked” were also on their 1991 demo as well.

Seven Day Jesus – Sustenance

Seven Day Jesus
1994 (no label)
Huntington, West Virginia, USA

Brian McSweeney – Vocals, guitar
Chris Beaty – Guitar
Wes Simpkins – Bass, vocals
Matt Sumpter – Drums, vocals
Christy – Guest violin

Side 1:

  1. Strength
  2. The Hunger
  3. George
  4. Light

Side 2:

  1. Pose
  2. Bag O’ Nails
  3. Salut Ca Va
  4. Ashamed

This was (as far as I can tell) the second demo by Seven Day Jesus, and the demo that brought them to a wider attention due to some tracks being included on a few compilations back in the day. “George,” “Light,” Bag o’ Nails,” and “Salut Ça Va” were all on their last demo (in pretty much the same version as here). All of the songs on here seem to repeat on their third demo except for “Intro” and “Ashamed” (although they seem to be different versions on each demo this time). “Strength,” “The Hunger,” and “Ashamed” are the only three from this demo that made it onto their label debut The Hunger. The sound on this demo also seems to be a bit more loose and rougher than later recordings.

The Perfect Ending – Scream and Shout

The Perfect Ending
Scream and Shout
1994 Desire Records
Bedfordshire, England, United Kingdom

Matt Hyam – Vocals, guitars
James White – Guitars, vocals
Arthur Goode – Bass guitars, vocals
Adam Clark – Drums, percussion

Side 1:

  1. Tell Me
  2. There Will Come a Day
  3. I Know the Way
  4. Why are You Crying?

Side 2:

  1. Scream and Shout
  2. All Along the Watchtower
  3. Not Alone
  4. Coming Home

The third (and final?) demo by The Perfect Ending, also available online for free just like their first and second demos. They continue to refine and grow their Prayer Chain-esque alternative rock. It is probably more accurate to say that they were influenced by the same groups that the PC guys were influenced by on their first two albums. All filtered through a brit-rock lens, of course. A good combination that didn’t seem to get them wider attention, unfortunately. They also do a nice cover of Dylan’s “All Along The Watchtower.”