Chris Taylor & Matt Slocum – Better Days

Chris Taylor & Matt Slocum
Better Days
1991 (no label)
San Antonio, Texas, USA

Chris Taylor – Lyrics, singer, guitar
Matt Slocum – Guitars
Chris Dodds – Drum Samples
Teresa Lopez – Vocals on “hole”

Side 1:

  1. Like a Woman
  2. Moon
  3. Who in Hell?
  4. So Cold in Here
  5. Hole
  6. Need You to Be Free

Side 2:

  1. What’s Behind Those Eyes…
  2. Rip.
  3. Another Sunday Morning…
  4. Summer Wind
  5. Selah 140
  6. Just a Little Bit of Me
  7. Silver…

Chris Taylor seems to have a large number of cassette demos from his pre-label days, a couple of which I have heard and a couple more I have only heard of, and probably a couple more beyond that. On this one, he teams up with Lova Coma band-mate Matt Slocum (you might have also heard of him from this little band called Sixpence None the Richer). Two of these songs were later recorded by Love Coma (“What’s Behind Those Eyes” on Soul Rash and “Summer Wind” on Language of Fools). These are more stripped down formats. In fact, the whole thing is definitely alternative like Love Coma and Taylor’s solo work, just much more basic and demo-esque. But the talent still shines through. A few of the tracks made it online for your listening pleasure: