Greenhouse Effect – Demo

Greenhouse Effect
Demo
1991 Rock City Productions (RCP 0961)
Worchester, Massachusetts, USA

Phil “Flipper” Keegan – Guitar
Rick “Ted” Carmody – Bass
Clark “Shark” Hagins – Drums, vocals

Side 1:

  1. Precarious
  2. No. 1
  3. Think About It (?)
  4. (unknown instrumental)
  5. Can’t Take It Anymore (?)
  6. Magic Man
  7. Little Man
  8. Don’t Help Me (?)
  9. Can I (?)
  10. Don’t Kill (?)
  11. 6 Feet Under
  12. Awaiting Judgement Day (?)

Side 2:

  1. Take My Hand (?)
  2. Don’t Let Them (?)
  3. Divine Intervention (?)
  4. Coke Snorting Love Boys
  5. Waiting for Your Love to Fail

So the j-card lists 10 songs, but there are 17 songs here. There is also a note on the inside saying to ignore the song order on the j-card. So I am not sure of the song names or order here. I think I got 7 titles above correct, but couldn’t find any songs that said “Racers,” “A Current Affair,” or “Virus O’Sirus” (I would guess that one is the instrumental). I put question marks by the song titles that I guessed at above. The sound on this demo is mostly alternative rock with a shredder guitarist that likes to jam extended solos. Imagine a less funky but still slightly quirky early Prayer Chain with more guitar solos. I remember seeing this demo in a picture of a stack of demos online and thought it wasn’t really a demo – just some joke mix tape in the collection or something. But then I saw it in the box someone sent me to covert and gave it a listen. The interesting thing about this demo is that it uses language that would not have been acceptable in Christian circles, but there are some obvious Christian songs on here. Also, it was sent to the head of a Christian magazine originally. They either didn’t seem to know about – or care about – the language gate keepers of the day.

Leave a comment