Moses Creeble – Bible & Bubblegum

Moses Creeble
Bible & Bubblegum
1996 (no label)
The Netherlands

Eric Naus – Guitar, tambourine, vocals
Paul Rinsma – Bass, vocals
Sijbren Albers – Drums, vocals

  1. Bible & Bubblegum (3:09)
  2. Jesus Loves You (3:28)
  3. Hello God (4:48)
  4. I Will Follow Jesus (4:48)
  5. The Flying Dutchman (’96 version) (3:07)
  6. Jesus Gets Me Higher Than Cocaine (’96 version) (3:39)
  7. Jump for Jesus (’96 version) (3:57)

This band has a few tape releases that I will probably get to, but I had to skip to this one for the title of the CD and the song “Jesus Gets Me Higher Than Cocaine.” I mean – how could you not check those out? The lyrics on this ep are very Christian and very trippy. This is typically described as garage rock, which is a good way to describe it – but there are times that it leans more towards alternative rock, and other times it has a discernible grunge influence. But it is still pretty good. I am surprised that it didn’t get any notice in America. I know the lyrics would have caused evangelicals fits, but that alone should have guaranteed some exposure. I don’t have this album – I had to listen to it n YouTube. They used to have all of their albums up for download on their website, but those links are sadly broken now.

Leave a comment