The Smyrna Band – In the Deep of the Night (lp)

The Smyrna Band
In the Deep of the Night
1984 Morada Records (MZS 168)
Black Mountain, North Dakota, USA

Ron Thompson – Vocals, guitar
Tim Bode – Keyboards
Steve Senn – Drums, vocals

Side 1:

  1. In the Deep of the Night
  2. Disneyland USA
  3. Two Sides
  4. Borrowed Time
  5. Never Gets Cold

Side 2:

  1. Rejoice
  2. I Once Was a Man
  3. Vision
  4. Thru the Fire
  5. I See Jesus

So, technically I got this as a record instead of a tape. But I saw it on sale in a clearance list at a cheap price and decided to grab it to see how it compares to the EP version. It seems that having a full label behind the band helped them put out a higher quality project. The sound here is basically 80s rock, maybe with a slight new wave/alternative rock leaning. A little light and normal compared to what I usually listen to, but to be honest – I really like it. “In the Deep of the Night,” “Disneyland USA,” “Two Sides,” and “Never Gets Cold” are all repeated from the ep. They are pretty much the same versions of the songs, just different recordings.

Leave a comment