Babo – The First Time

Babo
The First Time
1991 (no label)
Doorwerth, Netherlands

Gerco Mons – Singing, guitar
Marcel Mons – Bass
Alexander Bijl – Solo guitar
Oscar Pathuis – Drums, keyboards
Andre Venema – Techniek

  1. Bye Bye Color
  2. First Love
  3. The Letter
  4. John
  5. Marianne
  6. De Jet van Tante Jet

This would have probably been put off until later in the que for digitization, until I noticed that they do a cover of L.S.U.’s “Bye Bye Color.” Well, it is song with the lyrics to “Bye Bye Color” over a completely different musical arrangement. The band is from the Netherlands, and I had to translate some terms above from Dutch. But I couldn’t find out what “Techniek” translates to other than “Technics.” Stage show I guess? Anyways, the sound is kind of alternative rock with some mod and surf rock leanings. It reminds me of what Surprise Surprise did sometimes in the early days.

One Reply to “”

  1. Hi there, this tape was made in 1991. I know it, because I was the founding member of this band. You gave me a big smile with this review!
    A few weeks ago we did a reuniongig and played Bye Bye Color and a few other songs. Today I play in another band: Moonradio.
    cheers!
    Gerco

    Like

Leave a comment