Modern Innocence – Demo

Modern Innocence
Demo
1986 (no label)
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Side 1:

  1. Son City
  2. Alive Alive

Side 2:

  1. Deep End
  2. Knock’n

Another mystery tape with no information. This one didn’t even bother to label which one was side 1 or 2. It seems like “Son City” seems like more of an opening song, so I went with that one. But I could be wrong. The sound is mainly alternative rock, but a bit more hard rock at times than the band name would imply. The opening track is kind of that soft-spoken vocal alt rock you heard a lot in the 80s, but “Alive Alive”  has song grinding guitars that are somewhere between punk and hard rock. Maybe even a bit of a surf vibe? “Deep End” and “Knock’n” continue with the grinding guitar, so I guess the opening track was the outlier. If I am not mistaken, I think I detect a noticeable Mark Krischak influence on these tracks.

Missing Information: Who played on this? Which side is Side 1?

Leave a comment