Tempestuous All – Ponderings

Tempestuous All
Ponderings
1996 137 Records
Wheaton, Illinois, USA

Brian C. Jones – Electronic wizard, vocals, general nuisance
Scott D. Lee – Apprentice, graphics, public relations

Scott Barrett – Guitars
Heavy Cat – Violin on “The Tree”

Side 1:

  1. Innocence
  2. The Tree
  3. Thou Shalt not Lie

Side 2:

  1. Who I Am
  2. What Does It Mean
  3. Mother

I was a bit worried about this tape. It appears that someone in the past got the tape twisted while rewinding it, meaning it was all upside down. I had to slowly fix one twist, unwind until I found the corresponding twist (which was near the end of the tape), and fix that. It could have really messed up the tape doing all of this, but luckily it did not (other than two pieces of slight garble where the actual twist was). Whew! I had never heard this tape, so I glad it worked. This is crunchy metal industrial with lots of keyboard effects and samples. Mid-90s industrial at its best, really. I like it when bands tried to find a nice mix of aggressive metal and industrial tripiness. Not that going farther on either side is a bad thing, it’s just good to get a mix. I’m not sure if this is the first tape by the band, but they did go on to release another album in 1999 called Technaelogical Dig.

Leave a comment