Stinging Rain – Stinging Rain EP

Stinging Rain
Stinging Rain EP
1993 Nondescript Records
Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

Nathan Depew – Vocals, guitars, harmonica
Paul Fry – Bass, backing vocals
Brett Kendall – Keyboards, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
Jon Phillips – Drums, percussion

  1. Violin (live)
  2. Shoes
  3. Via Dolorosa
  4. The Minstrel’s Song (live)

Fans of Stinging Rain are probably giving this release the side-eye. All of the songs listed on here are on their 1993 full-length The Face of Stephen. But the list of current releases on the j-card itself doesn’t have that on there. There is also no mention of this being a pre-release. My best guess is that it was an ep they put together in the beginning of 1993, which got expanded into a full length later on in 1993. I own their three albums on CD, so obviously I like this band, but I have never heard of this ep. For those that don’t know, Stinging Rain was a Pennsylvania alternative rock band that got some attention outside of their area. The versions of the songs here are slightly different than the ones on The Face of Stephen, usually with a bit lower mix, so I stick with my guess that these were earlier versions, maybe even demo versions. I think I even hear some slight Celtic rock influences on some of the songs?

Leave a comment