Blackhouse – Hidden Beneath the Metal

Blackhouse
Hidden Beneath the Metal
1991 Ladd-Frith
Eureka, California, USA

Ivo Cutler – Voice, sampler, radio, chair, effects
Sterling Cross – Voice, sound module, percussion

Brian Ladd – Untuned guest guitar, mega-mix

Side 1:

  1. Hidden Beneath the Metal A

Side 2:

  1. Hidden Beneath the Metal B

To be honest, I don’t know enough about industrial to be able to tell you what sub-genre each Blackhouse album fits into. I do like their music, and they do change styles some each album. But people with more knowledge of industrial in general can probably describe this better than I can. To me, this one appears to be more ambient and subdued than other releases. If I am counting correctly, this was their 9th release, one year after Material World, but three years before Stairway to a Gospel Word – which I think was actually a compilation. So the next original album was 1995’s Shock the Nation. Each side is a single long 15+ minute track. On the CD reissue, it seems they were combined into one 30 minute track with some bonus tracks added.

Leave a comment