Joey Spiedo – Battle Cry

Joey Spiedo
Battle Cry
1995 (no label)
Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

Joey Spiedo – Bass, rhythm guitars, Background vocals
Jeff Smith – Lead vocals, background vocals
Mark Panek – Drums

Mark Waters – Lead guitar on “We Are One,” “Nothing to Lose,” and “Saving Grace”
Scott Botteicher – Lead guitar on “How Long Can I Wait,” “Battle Cry,” “The Promise,” and “I Have Someone”
Doug Burnstein – Sax solo on “Different Eyes”
Duane Shimmel – Keyboards on “The Promise”
Penny Erney – Keyboards on “The Promise,” background vocals on “Saving Grace” and “Different Eyes”

Side 1:

  1. We Are One
  2. How Long Can I Wait
  3. The Promise
  4. Saving Grace

Side 2:

  1. Battle Cry
  2. Nothing to Lose
  3. Different Eyes
  4. I Have Someone

So the first time I listened to this, I thought Spiedo was the singer, but then I looked at the liner notes and found out he is the bass and rhythm guitar player. He also wrote all the songs, but got other people to come in and sing most of the vocals and play lead guitars. Not really sure what specific style they are going for here, other than a 1995 throw back to traditional heavy metal? There really is nothing 90s about it at all, which is a rare thing for 90s metal albums. Not sure if Spiedo did anything before or after this.

Leave a comment