Echelon – There in Reigns My God

Echelon
There in Reigns My God
1992 (no label)
Columbia, Ohio, USA

Rich Beofner – Baritone lead and backing vocals
Greg James – Tenor lead and backing vocals
Brian Kley – Bass guitar, backing vocals
Tim McLaughlin – Keyboards
Doug McLaughlin – Drums, keyboards

John Hannah – Lead guitar, rhythm guitar
Mark Townsend – Lead guitar, rhythm guitar
Dave Vaughn – Guitar

Side 1:

  1. It’s Your Choice
  2. Signal the Wind
  3. There in Reigns My God
  4. When I Fail to See the Reason
  5. Rain
  6. General Quarters

Side 2:

  1. Turn to Jerusalem
  2. I’ll Take a Stand
  3. When I Fly
  4. Against the Odds
  5. Somehow Changed
  6. Hosanna!

This Echelon is a different band from the alternative rock band from Canada that released Shiver on Liquid Disc Records in 1996. This Ohio band is more of a keyboard-forward AOR band. They kind of skirt hard rock on several songs, but mostly stay in the realm of rock. But they also don’t always go for the pop rock style of Petra and other bands (even though I assume Greg X Volz is an influence on the singer by the way he belts it out). The longer I listen, the more I start thinking that Volz and Kerry Livgren were major influences. As you can probably guess by the length of the tape and the style, there are several power ballads here as well.

Leave a comment