Red Running – Hope

Red Running
Hope
1991 (no label)
Salem, Massachusetts, USA

Emily Smith – Lead Vocals
Don Gibbs – Electric guitars, acoustic guitars
Mark Retallack – Keyboards
Christian Smith – Bass, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
Neal Armstrong – Drums

Side 1:

  1. Very Bad Year
  2. All I Need to Know
  3. Rachel and Her Children
  4. Shelter Me

Side 2:

  1. Promise Land
  2. Just Because They Wear a Badge
  3. After the Storm

This tape is the follow-up to the band’s 1990 self-titled demo. Believe it or not, the guitarist of the band read the review of that tape and sent me this one as well. Thanks! The band seems to have stayed mostly the same except for a new drummer. The sound is also more textured and mature than the last demo. They are still doing the Americana-infused alternative rock sound, just a bit deeper. I think this was it from the band, but it appears guitarist Don Gibbs is still making music. His 2018 album A View from Below is available at most digital outlets. It is mellower than Red Running, but it reminds me of the mellower songs from the 77s Pray Naked. I quite enjoyed it, so I recommend checking it out.

One Reply to “”

  1. Wow! Something on YouTube this morning made me think of Red Running and I did a Google search, not expecting to find anything, but low and behold, there was this review….from 2020! I am the “new drummer” that you referred to! I’m glad I didn’t see you write “The songs and playing/singing are great, except for that drummer who can’t hold a tempo if it had a handle”! I think I stayed with the band for ~1 year after this tape was released. I’m still in contact with Mark and Emily via Facebook/Instagram, but I haven’t talked to Chris or Don since then (both great guys). I love that Don sent you the tape…I still have mine! I still have fond memories of those times. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a comment