Suns of Winter – Boy in the Sun

Suns of Winter
Boy in the Sun
1992 (no label)
Westerville, Ohio, USA

Holiday – Guitar
T.I. Wallaby – Bass
Vern – Drums

Side 1:

  1. Voiced Truth
  2. Easter
  3. Picture
  4. Frequent Flyer
  5. Hallowed Ground

Side 2:

  1. The Burning
  2. What Will Be
  3. Boy in the Sun
  4. The Rain
  5. My Suffering Child

This demo starts off on the mellow side, with an acoustic alternative rock number. They get more into alternative rock territory as the tape goes on. Some songs are even pretty driving and electric, like the trippy “Frequent Flyer.” They also occasionally dip into 80s alt rock with songs like “What Will Be.” The title song gets almost… grunge, I dare say? I had heard the 1993 follow-up demo called Underwater before I heard this one. That demo was described as sounding like Poor Old Lu, and that was kind of right. They also have a similar sound here, but with other alternative influences mixed in as well. I’m not sure if there are any repeated songs between demos – I don’t think so, but the other demo I have didn’t come with scans or song names.  Update: It turns out there is one from 1991 called Another November.

Leave a comment