The Move – Tape ’87

The Move
Tape ’87
1987 (no label)
Boskoop, South Holland, The Netherlands

Aryon De Kok – Lead vocals, electric guitar
Karl Muusse – Synthesizer, solo guitar, backing vocals
Nico Huisman – Bass guitar
Peter Zool – Drums
Kees Von Dorth – Technics

Side 1:

  1. Good Vibrations
  2. War
  3. Jerrey
  4. Love
  5. Wintertime
  6. Alexander
  7. Dependence
  8. Wonderful Dream
  9. P. 42

Side 2:

  1. Why
  2. No. I
  3. He Will
  4. The Frequency of Love
  5. Apologize
  6. Sacrifice
  7. Sing My Song
  8. Second

So I wonder what the format and year of this release was? Just kidding. I grabbed this tape primarily because The Move has a 7-inch release on Embryo Arts and usually those are great releases. I have several of them, but I do not have the one by The Move. The two songs from that 7-inch – “Good Vibrations” and “Number One” – are both on this tape, but I don’t know if they are the same versions or not. They are listed as New Wave on the 7-inch, and that is generally true here. Of course, with 15 songs, they have the time to explore many other sounds. They stay generally within the alternative rock / synth rock / new wave / etc realm, though. So many bands just put out a few songs on a demo or 7-inch and then disappeared, so it is cool to see such a long demo like this appear out of nowhere.

2 Replies to “The Move – Tape ’87”

Leave a comment