Towne Cryer – Towne Cryer

Towne Cryer
Towne Cryer
1990 (no label)
San Bernardino, California, USA

Gena McClure – Vocals
Steve Metzger – Guitars
Shawn Cummings – Bass
Ron McClure – Drums

Side 1:

  1. Still I Wait
  2. Rock of Salvation
  3. Without You
  4. He is the One

Side 2:

  1. The Tempter
  2. Right to Kill
  3. King of Broken Hearts
  4. Knight of the Thief

To be honest, for some reason I was not aware that Towne Cryer had a demo before Against All Evil (1992). It’s all online, I just never clued into the fact. Well, now I have corrected that error. For those that don’t know, Towne Cryer gained a solid reputation as a progressive power thrash metal band with female vocals that really created their own sound… but somehow never got signed. I see online that there are possibly other demos out there beyond the three that I am now aware of. Some of their background vocals have a King Diamond or even Tourniquet creepy voice quality to them. Their vocalist has power house vocals that remind me a bit of Hellion with a touch of gruffness. Interesting band with an interesting sound that went pretty far in the underground back in the day, but should have broken out.

Leave a comment