Poesis – Demo

Poesis
Demo
1996 (no label)
St. Charles, Missouri, USA

Dave Ortinau – Guitar, vocals
Eric A. Peterson – Guitar, vocals
Joel Puttcamp – Bass
D.C. Chymes – Drums

  1. Fly
  2. Dawn
  3. Down
  4. Touch Me

So, there is an Eric Peterson who was most well-known as the leader of thrash metal outfit Jesus Freaks (he was also involved in bands like Blind Eye Open and Cauldron of Puke). The Peterson in this band is not the same person. This Eric A. Peterson also released some solo tapes, one produced by Jimmy P. Brown II. This band has that loud guitar with alt-rock songs sound that was popular in the mid-90s in Christian circles, mostly due to the popularity of Plankeye and other such bands. Poesis does not sound like Plankeye, but I could see fans of each band liking the other’s music.

3 Replies to “Poesis – Demo”

  1. Eric A Peterson is not the same as the one that played with Jesus Freaks and I don’t think any of us were listening to Plankeye prior to writing/recording the tape you have.

    Yes it is the same Eric A Peterson that played with JPB2

    I can provide more info if you have more questions, just email me or let me know where to email you.

    -Joel

    Like

    1. Thank you for the information – I will update everything about this Peterson. BTW – I just meant that Plankeye helped make this style of music more popular in Christian circles. There were several other bands as well that had a similar sound, but that was because they were influenced by the same bands Plankeye was instead of Plankeye themselves.

      Like

      1. Yeah, we all listened to Plankeye later, I am not knocking them, I think we might even have played with them.

        If you are the site admin, can you send me a direct email for a conversation outside of comments?

        Like

Leave a comment