Scapegoat – Love to You My Flower

Scapegoat
Love to You My Flower
1992 (no label)
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Daniel Varela – Vocals, guitars
Rick Ornelas – Bass, backing vocals
T.J. Johnson – Drums, backing vocals, keyboards

Side 1:

  1. Words
  2. Fills Me Like No Other

Side 2:

  1. Love to You My Flower
  2. A.W.O.L.

This is the same band that made an underground splash on a few samplers back in the 90s. If you are looking for the groovy fun of “Wake Me” or “The System,” well… it’s not quite here. There is groove and humor here, but this more straight forward groove metal, leaning more on the metal side with a good side of progressive metal thrown in here and there. It seems that they recorded some over the top humorous songs for samplers (like “Wham!”) and kept the slightly more serious stuff for the demos. Songs like “Fills Me Like No Other” have a killer hook. Scapegoat resurfaced in 2012-13 and released a compilation of songs – I believe all of the songs on here made it onto that compilation. I also think there was another demo after this one (or maybe it was before?), but I can’t find any information about it online.

 

Leave a comment