Society – Life Without You

Society
Life Without You
1987 Reality Records (003)
Hayward, California, USA

Justin Stevens – Guitars, vocals
James Tyler – Percussions
Scott Rohde – Bass, vocals

  1. Inside the Mind
  2. The Calling
  3. The Bridge
  4. Morning Prayer

This was a surprise find. I would have passed it by until I noticed that it was produced by Sean Doty of Veil of Ashes fame. Popping the tape in, I find an intelligent alternative rock band that utilizes both chiming U2-esque guitars and occasional distorted power chords. An interesting mix that works well. I could see this fitting in on the Narrowpath label back in the day. The bass guitar and drums here are also not that complex, but well written to match the songs. Not sure what happened to the band after this – but I have to wonder if “Justin Stevens” is “Justin Dillon Stevens” of Dimestore Prophets fame?

Leave a comment