The Smyrna Band – New Day

The Smyrna Band
New Day
1984 Cherry Grove Records (SCR009)
Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

  1. New Day
  2. I Have Been Thru the Fire
  3. The Way You Do
  4. Love Like There’s No Tomorrow
  5. You Keep Me Runnin’

This was kind of a surprise. I didn’t know there were any other Smyrna Band albums other that the 3 that I have already covered. Makes you wonder if there are any more? The sound here is still rock, but to my hears it leans a bit more towards country rock of The Eagles and maybe some classic 50s rock than their other hard rock or new wave leanings. “I Have Been Thru the Fire“ was re-recorded as “Thru the Fire” on the Morada Records version of In the Deep of the Night, but I don’t think the rest of the songs here appear anywhere else. As with many of their other releases, there is no list of who played on this.

Missing Information: who played on this?

Leave a comment