Exit Up – With Jesus

Exit Up
With Jesus
1988 (no label)
Coldwater, Michigan, USA

Ed Spreeman – Lead vocals, keyboards
Steve Walker – Rhythm guitars, lead guitar, background vocals
Philip Hayden – Drums, background vocals

Brian Hardin – Additional vocals

  1. Come On
  2. Don’t Lose Your Hope
  3. All Day Long
  4. Take the Fear Away

This is a very mid-80s sounding band that came out in 1988. They kind of stay around the AOR/rock arena, but there are slight hints of 80s alternative and hard rock in the sound as well. They actually do remind me of an 80s band, but I can’t put my finger on the exact influence right now. I would bet that people who like Vector but prefer a more pop rock oriented style would connect with this. Is Vector meets mid-career White Heart a thing? It might be with this band. But probably more on the Vector side. Not sure if they did anything before or after this release.

2 Replies to “Exit Up – With Jesus”

  1. Doug Oxford (Lead Vocal and Guitar) and myself (Keyboards) started the band at Spring Arbor College with Bruce Lawton (Bass) and someone on drums. LOL
    By the time the EP cassette was made Doug had moved on and would join up with another local band Armada – from Lansing MI.
    The recording features Ed Spreeman on Keys and Lead Vocal, Phil Hayen on Drums, Steve Walker on Electric Guitar and Backing Vocals, maybe John Puorro on Bass (I think he joined after the recording though).
    I ran sound for all live performances after Ed and Steve joined, having a good PA and sound was more important to me than playing on stage.
    The cassette recording was done at a studio on Coldwater Rd in Flint MI. I don’t remember the name of the studio.

    Like

Leave a comment