The Free Zone – Mammon (30 Year Expanded Edition)

The Free Zone
Mammon (30 Year Expanded Edition)
1990 Cheep Records (original release)
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom

Pete Scarlett – Drums
Tim Thwaites – Other instruments, vocals

  1. Let Them Eat Progress
  2. Some Of The Things They’re Now Saying
  3. Ghost Of A Smile
  4. Sweet Liberty
  5. Sartre In Sunglasses
  6. He Still Walks
  7. Crocodile Street
  8. Common Purpose
  9. Happy Now
  10. Good Intentions
  11. Surrender
  12. And I Have Mine
  13. The Happening World (bonus track)
  14. Antidote (bonus track)
  15. Back from the Dead (piano version) (bonus track)

I bought this one recently and forgot to write about it. I have the original 1990 release on vinyl, but the band put out a newly remastered version on BandCamp so I decided to upgrade my vinyl rip. The new version also has three bonus tracks and a new cover. The sound is a British indie rock / alternative rock sound that was popular in the late 80s / early 90s. As you know by now, I’m a fan of 80s alt rock. The Free Zone brought in a bit of quirky angle. You can check it out on BandCamp, but make sure to click the “info” link that appears next to each song to read about each song. This was at least their fourth album (released after 1987’s Large as Life and Political Asylum), and I believe their last. Will their earlier albums appear on BandCamp? I think I heard that they will not, but I’m still hoping.

One Reply to “”

  1. I would add a little to the sound description here. It is as you say on many songs but there is also some synthpop/New wave songs in here. Listen to Common purpose and Happy now for example.

    Like

Leave a comment