Vector – Vector

Vector
Vector
1989 (no label)
California, USA

Steve Griffith – Bass, leads vocals
Jimi Abegg – Guitar, vocals
Aaron Smith – Drums, vocals

Side 1:

  1. I Wanna Know
  2. Fine Line
  3. Be Undone
  4. Where Are You Now
  5. I Burn Myself Away

Side 2:

  1. I Wait For You
  2. Have Mercy
  3. Sometimes
  4. Simple Experience

I know that at first glance, this looks like an unknown Vector tape. But take a look at the song titles, and you will see that this is Simple Experience. To my ears, it doesn’t sound like these are earlier demos, either. It sounds like this was the original recording that was then remastered and released by Spark Music later the same year. A quick check online confirms that this was the case. This was the album where Vector transitioned from a new wave band to an alternative rock band. People rave about this album as one of the under-appreciated classics, and you can see why when listening to it.

Leave a comment