Alien – Journey to Babylon

Alien
Journey to Babylon
198? (no label)
Somis, California, USA

Billy Scratch – Guitar, vocals
Marty Edwards – Guitar, vocals
Mike Nunez – Bass, vocals
“Sledge” – Drums

  1. Sweet Outa Line
  2. Babylon / U.S.A.
  3. No Longer
  4. Over My Dead Body
  5. Song Two
  6. Way Made Straight

I didn’t really think I would ever track this one down, since the band and tape name are used on all kinds of websites. But I have wanted to hear it since it was produced by Ojo Taylor of Undercover fame. I don’t know what year it was released, but I would guess it was the mid 80s. It kind of floats somewhere between rock, alternative rock, and punk rock. The whole tape is really a good mix of styles while staying grounded in rock/alternative rock territory. For example, “Babylon U.S.A.” has both new wave and hard rock influences. But “Over My Dead Body” has hard and punk rock edges. Don’t know much more about this band other than they probably also have a demo called Hell n’ Back in 1986 – but would like to hear more.

Missing Information: What year was this released? What is Sledge’s real name?

Leave a comment