Denison Witmer – My Luck, My Love

Denison Witmer
My Luck, My Love
1995 (no label)
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States

Denison Witmer – vocals, guitar

Ryan Burkhart – Guitar on “My Luck, My Love” and “Prayer Song”
Douglas Witmer – Background guitar on “Prayer Song”

Side 1:

  1. So You Took My Love
  2. Monday At 2:30
  3. Lift My Head Up From My Knees
  4. Good Cry
  5. Take What You Need

Side 2:

  1. My Luck, My Love
  2. I’m On My Way
  3. Master Of Being Alone
  4. Prayer Song
  5. Say You’ll Stick Around

This is the first tape by Denison Witmer, who went on to release many albums through Burnt Toast Vinyl, Velvet Blue Music, The Militia Group, Asthmatic Kitty, etc. Apparently he doesn’t see this as his debut, just a demo he made as an “extension of a hobby” for family and friends. His first real album would apparently be 1998’s Safe Away. But this does sound like a full album – it is a neo-folk album, but he managed to do a good job of recording himself and not sounding like a guy recording himself in a bedroom on a boom box. Witmer became known for using intricate finger-picking on his guitar, and you can hear that here. But it is just him and his guitar, so that may or may not be your thing.

Leave a comment