Stratochief – A.D.

Stratochief
A.D.
1996 (no label)
Point Roberts, Washington, USA

Naomi Sider – Vocals
Paula Spurr – Vocals, guitar
John Anionopoulos – Guitar
Mike Sider – Bass
Jon Brotherton – Drums

  1. Motorcycle Daddy
  2. Withdrawal
  3. Lies of Introspection
  4. Lullaby
  5. Tom Jones
  6. I Am Not
  7. Picket Fence
  8. She Shoots She Scores

Stratochief is probably most known by the track “Motorcycle Daddy” that appeared on a few compilations back in the day – most notably the Starball Compilation from Flying Tart Records. Their female-fronted psychobilly punk indie rock sound (or whatever you would call it) made them standout. This tape starts off with “Motorcycle Daddy,” and then goes on to prove that track was not a one-tine deal. It is a bit hard to describe their style – at times they remind me of a punkier Joe Christmas, at other times a more indie rock Flatfoot 56. As far as I know, this was sadly their only release.

One Reply to “”

  1. Amazing. I co-wrote and played guitar on this album. I even put that cover together sticking whatever I had onto an actual photograph. And I don’t even own a single copy of it! Thanks for posting this, what a blast from the past. Btw, we were from Surrey, BC Canada.

    Like

Leave a comment