Brian Rennick – From Darkness to Light

Brian Rennick
From Darkness to Light
1992 Lost Sheep Records
Brea, California, USA

Brian Rennick – Vocals, acoustic guitar
Randy Mitchell – Electric guitars
Terry Butler – Keyboards
Glen Holman – Bass guitar
Dennis Holt – Drums

Tom Reyes – Guitar on “Light of the World”
Mark Heard – Mixing, additional recording

Side 1:

  1. He Wants You
  2. He’s the One
  3. It’s You
  4. Change in Heart
  5. Gentle Love

Side 2:

  1. Light of the World
  2. Here I Am
  3. Pain of Love
  4. Can’t Go Back
  5. I Will Follow

I grabbed this one based on the moody cover, and then I noticed that Mark Heard was involved on some songs. Based on the pictures of Rennick, I thought I was going to get a folk project. But the first song is full on rock – really what they used to call Adult Alternative. It reminds me a bit of The Choir meets 90s Vector. As is the norm with Adult Alternative, there are several songs on here that would be considered ballads, but they still have that alternative edge. And then there are songs like “Can’t Go Back” that just rock out. The liner notes makes it sound like Mark Heard came in to help finish record this tape, and then to mix it once it was completed. Sounds like he did a great job, along with everyone else that participated as well. It looks like you can fins this on most streaming services out there.

Leave a comment