Glider

Glider
1985 Stride
United Kingdom

New 7th Music performers: Tony Clough, Ashleigh Marsh, Heather Rolfe, Phil Kelday, Rebecca, and Steve Hildreth
Face in the Crowd performers: Rupert Loydell and Russell Kirk

  1. New 7th Music – Mata Hari (recorded 7-28-1985)
  2. Face in the Crowd – The White Man Does not Understand (recorded live 1-28-1985)
  3. Rupert Loydell – Artaud Cut-Up (from Mad as Fire)

I think this is technically a split album, but the inclusion of the song from Loydell’s solo tape Mad as Fire changes it into either a three-way split, or a compilation. I’m never really sure how to describe these experimental improvisation albums – they kind of play various instruments and objects (sometimes with spoken or sung words or vocal noises) in a free-flowing matter, but also often with structures (that were created on the spot). I enjoy listening to it myself, but I know it is not everyone’s thing. Side 1 is one long session (29+ minutes) by New 7th Music, while Side 2 has a live session by Face in the Crowd and then a track from Loydell’s 1983 solo tape. I wasn’t really sure where to make the cut for these two songs, but I at the 28 and a half minute mark there was a distinct change from improv with instruments to a short 1 minute plus track with found noise from television news broadcasts. I hope that was the correct place.

Leave a comment