The Shroud (early Luxury) – Tinsel

The Shroud (early Luxury)
Tinsel
1992 (no label)
Tocca Falls, Georgia, USA

  1. Honeymoon
  2. I Don’t Hate Her Anymore
  3. How Strange
  4. Touch
  5. Collier’s Fame

If you weren’t aware, all of the early Luxury demos are up on their BandCamp page, so I thought I would go through them and add them to the site. As far as I can tell, this is their first demo when they were known as The Shroud. It seems they changed that to just Shroud for 1993’s Candy, Darling?. If you can imagine Luxury’s sound from 1994 rewound a couple of years, that is what you have here. A bit faster and more youthful in places – you can see how much they matured by their major label debut. But don’t take that to mean it’s bad – you can still get their sense of crafting melodies and artful indie rock songs. “Touch” was re-recorded for Candy, Darling?, but it seems the rest of the songs are only on this tape (unless they were re-worked so much that I just can’t recognize them). The artwork above is what came with the BandCamp download – I wasn’t able to find a scan of the full tape artwork anywhere. Also of note is that “Honeymoon” and ” I Don’t Hate Her Anymore” were also included on the Nude at Last collection tape.

Leave a comment