Fools and Strangers – Welcome to the Far Side / From Life to Death to Life

Fools and Strangers
Welcome to the Far Side / From Life to Death to Life
19?? (no label)
Detroit, Michigan, USA

Jay Mindeman
(others?)

  1. Intro
  2. Ashes to Ashes and Dust to Dust
  3. Welcome to the Far Side
  4. Leisure Suit Zombies
  5. Watching You (My MTV)
  6. Til I Found You
  7. Rachel You’ve Got My Love

This collection of demos was on the back of The Plague tape. I don’t know if this contains full demos or a sampling of songs from the two demos listed, as The Plague side didn’t not have all of the tracks from Nuclear Polka. Due to one of the radio spots on the other side, I know that Jay Mendamin is in both bands. There is also a female vocalist on “I Know How Love Can Be.” This is more rock/alternative rock vein than the songs by The Plague. They are still lo-fi songs with a drum machine. There are also no songs titles listed, so I took a guess above (and the first track is an instrumental, so I just called it “Intro”). They also released a tape called Hardcore Beatniks around this time as well.

Update: I now know that there are 5 songs from Welcome to the Far Side and Beyond and 2 songs from Life to Death to Life on this compilation

Missing Information: Song titles, who played on this, release date.

Leave a comment