Fools and Strangers – Welcome to the Far Side and Beyond

Fools and Strangers
Welcome to the Far Side and Beyond
198? (no label)

Jay Mindeman
(others?)

Side 1:

  1. Intro
  2. Ashes to Ashes and Dust to Dust
  3. Welcome to the Far Side
  4. Rachel You’ve Got My Love

Side 2:

  1. Only One
  2. Leisure Suit Zombies
  3. Purple Haze
  4. Don’t Worry, Be Happy
  5. Song Gone Bye

I had previously reviewed a compilation of sorts that had several songs from this demo on it, but I wasn’t sure if it had all of the songs or not. Now I know – it was most, but not all. Still no song titles, so I had to guess at many of them (except for the covers). The sound is kind of a garage DIY style – lots of humor, but they aren’t necessarily goofing off with the songs. I did find out in one of their other tapes (Life to Death to Life) that they are a band, or at least there are people that join Mindeman while recording. But the drum machine does give it a slight “one person band” feel. Not a bad thing. I think the “cover” of “Purple Haze” is someone slowing down and speeding up the actual recording of the song while making noises over it. The cover of “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” is obviously meant to be goofy. Or maybe it’s just my weird sense of humor to find it funny when they start thrashing out in the middle. They also released a tape called Hardcore Beatniks around this time as well.

Missing Information: Who all played on this?

Leave a comment