Fools and Strangers – Life to Death to Life

 


Life to Death to Life
1989? (no label)
Adams, North Dakota, USA

Jay Mindeman – All lead vocals, lead guitars, rhythm guitars on “Venus” and “Til I Found You,” drum programming and keyboards
Jason Loraas – Rhytm guitar on “Watching” and “Plead”
Eric Loraas – Bass on “Watching” and “Plead”
Shawn McLeave – Drums on “Til I Found You”
Bobbi Lehmen – Vocals on “Til I Found You”

Side 1:

  1. Watching You (My MTV)
  2. Floating Over Venus I
  3. Floating Over Venus II (Departure)

Side 2:

  1. Til’ I Found You
  2. Plead Insanity

This is an EP by Fools and Strangers. Fools and Strangers is one of many music projects by Jay Mindeman. I had previously wondered if this was a true band or a one-person project. The letter that came along with the tape shows that Mindemon does handle most parts, but there are many other people that join in the project as well. This is a very DIY project – lo-fi music that covers a range of styles, but would probably appeal most to alternative rock or experimental music fans. As with the other tapes, there is no date on this one, so I am not sure where this falls in conjunction to other projects. My guess is 1989 because I found a review of it from that year in The Cutting Edge. However, there were 2 songs placed on a collection demo tape either at the same time or after this was released. They also released a tape called Hardcore Beatniks around this time as well.

Leave a comment