Gary O’Hara Band – Invisible Waste

Gary O’Hara Band
Invisible Waste
1982 (no label)
Chicago, Illinois, USA

Gary O’Hara – Lead vocals, guitars
Del Belcher – Bass, background vocals
Dan Reifsnyder – Piano, synthesizers, background vocals
Jim Jorian – Drums

Side 1:

  1. Street Walking Lady
  2. Soul on Fire

Side 2:

  1. Save Me Tonight
  2. There’s a Rainbow

This tape starts off with some rollicking and romping classic rock. It almost even feels like a throw back to 70s rock in several places. I don’t know enough about this kind of music to know what specific bands they are influenced by, but I do recognize many of the sounds that I listen to on classic rock radio stations (which I guess are now oldies stations due to classic rock now being 80s and 90s music?). But my (very limited) guess would be The Eagles, CCW, Beach Boys, etc. But I know that the idea of someone in the Christian underground trying to sound like this would scare many away. I get that, and would probably be there with you, but I actually do enjoy this tape. Which I didn’t expect.

 

Leave a comment