Purge – The Joy of Throwing Things

Purge
The Joy of Throwing Things
1996 (no label)
Carl Junction, Missouri, USA

Ryan Ballard – Vocals
Philipp Wilkerson – Guitars
Collin Bergen – Bass
Mike Wilkerson – Drums, vocals

  1. Pro Death
  2. Phiale Thumos
  3. Abandoned Truth
  4. Dark Room
  5. Punishment
  6. Green Run
  7. Repay
  8. Powerless

For some reason, I thought this band had gone on to release a full-length somewhere. But I can’t find evidence of that, so I guess I dreamed it up. Anyways, this is an extreme metal band. The first song has a bit a of a doom intro before jumping into a death/thrash groove. Some sources have said this band is a mix of Pantera and Mortification, and I see where they say that. I would say Paramaecium instead, but that might just be me. This definitely came out when thrash, death, doom, crossover, and hardcore were mixing together. The second song does have a noticeable death metal intro with some doom elements, before breaking out in a Pantera-esque groove (with death metal growls combined with hardcore shouts over it). After this tape, the band released the 3-song Owe You Nothing demo in 1996. Also note that this is not the same Purge that had the song “Hate Crimes” on an HM sampler in 2000.

Leave a comment