Richard Harrison – Tingo

Richard Harrison
Tingo
199? (no label)
Long Beach, California, USA

Side 1:

  1. Where’s the Magic Now?
  2. Family Altar
  3. The Deafening Silence
  4. Demis
  5. My Memories Gone
  6. My Little Man (Tingo)
  7. I Found Mercy Today

Side 2:

  1. Cavatation
  2. Salvation for the Nation
  3. From Strength to Strength
  4. Turn It Over
  5. Sherry at Carlsbad

When I said in the review for 2006: Not That Far Away that that demo would be the last review that I knew of… I guess I lied. I thought this was a band named Tingo until I saw the cover and realized it is another Harrison release. Like his other releases, there is no date on this one. But it appears it is a tribute to his cat Tingo that died (possibly by being run over) on February 25, 1992. So I would guess 1992? But it could be much later. Like his other albums, this one is also instrumental, this time with no sermons or vocals of any kind. It’s kind of ambient  music that feels like it was more like 2006 than his other albums like Last Days Hype or Bent on Rebellion. Some of the songs are free-flowing, others have structure. I could see fans of some of Jeff Johnson’s work liking this as well. well, if you like Jeff Johnson mixed with Marc Plainguet.

Leave a comment